FAA registration or 333 exemption? or Both?

Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm a newbie here and although there are quite a few threads about both topics above I'm not sure where to ask in the forum. However, I recently purchase my DJI P3P and looking to use it for my business for photog and video scenes but my question is should I register it as a hobbyist first since the deadline is in a month or so then apply for my 333 since it'll take some time. I guess my issue is I'm trying to be somewhat legit while I apply for my 333 exemption. Or should I not register as a hobbyist at all and just go for the gusto of applying for my 333 and wait it out. Thoughts/comments??

You'll needed to register as a hobbyist first since your 333 exemption will definitely not be approved before the February 19th deadline.

Also... seeing you are a newbie... you do know that the FAA currently requires that the person at the UAS controls have an actual pilot's license even if a 333 exemption is in place, right? Just making sure you know that.

You'll needed to register as a hobbyist first since your 333 exemption will definitely not be approved before the February 19th deadline.

Thanks msinger!

Also... seeing you are a newbie... you do know that the FAA currently requires that the person at the UAS controls have an actual pilot's license even if a 333 exemption is in place, right? Just making sure you know that.

MapMaker53 - Yes I do know that you need an actual pilot's license with 333 exemption, thanks for the heads up though.

Why not go ahead and register it as a commercial aircraft (FAA N#) and that's one step you'll have done for when you do apply and are granted your Section 333 Exemption. That's what I did. My 333 Exemption took 170 days and I have my aircraft registered using the N# system for 160 of those days.

That's my 2 cents and not legal advice.