FAA Part 107 Test & Certificate

Reaction score
I am new to Drones. In fact the drone that I purchased (P3P) has yet to arrive at my home. I have been doing research and watching how to videos on every topic on our drones so I may become real familiar with the machine, how to set it up and fly as well as managing the technical side in software. So I have been real busy studying and learning for the past two weeks.

Now I purchased the drone for 2 purposes.

1. Recreational photography for me and my family camping, fishing and driving our buggy's and 4 wheeler's around.

2. For my Real Estate Business to take video and pictures of my clients home to market their property to the best ability and keep up with the market trends.

I know all of this FAA regulations and guidelines are really new and I read up on the history and where we stand today as of the new regulations that came out in August of this year.

So as of today, I understand I need to register my drone with the FAA via their website for a $5 fee and will receive a reg number that must be placed on any and all of my drones I will fly.

I also understand that I will need to take the FAA 107 test in order to use my drone in a commercial setting since I would like to use my drone for real estate purposes.

So, has anybody gone through the process of taking the 107 test? I see the FAA now has a 107 test course that you can take in order to get your 107. Has anybody gone through the course, and if so, could you be so kind to discuss the process?

Safer Skies Through Education - FAA - FAASTeam - FAASafety.gov

If nobody has taken the course through the FAA, it looks like I will be a guinea pig and will be more then happy to give step by step instructions on going through this pilot program that is in its infant stages!

Do you like alfalfa pellets? I am considering the 107 fire walk. See you on the other side Luke skywalker....