Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Extending GoPro using DDWRT?

Discussion in 'FPV (First Person View)' started by BostonFlyer, Jul 23, 2014.

  1. BostonFlyer

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have a WRT54G with DDWRT installed. I'd love to extend the GoPro's network so I can get better FPV range with my GoPro. I own the FC40 which operates at 5.4ghz so I wanted to avoid a FPV option that operates on 5.8 (the GoPro is 2.4ghz)

    Does anyone have a how-to?
     
  2. DKDarkness

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
  3. BostonFlyer

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    I spent a good three hours trying to get this to work :-( still nothing

    DO you have a step by step?
     
  4. DKDarkness

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    Did you make it work as a normal wifi extender for your home network first? Just to figure out where you got stuck.
     
  5. Miika

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    Using GoPro's own video feed via WiFi aint FPV... Its FirstPersonLatencyView... The latency is so huge even with the 3+ that I wouldnt suggest to anyone actually flying with it.
     
  6. DKDarkness

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    Using a Phantom isn't aerial photography, I would recommend using a full sized helicopter.

    I believe the topic is "Extending GoPro using DDWRT?". Keep posts on topic.
     
  7. Miika

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    You should look on to adding 2,4ghz FPV system instead of trying to increase the range of GoPro's WiFi. The latency is so horrible in GoPro 3+ and 3 that it makes no sense to use it for flying.
     
  8. tmartin62

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Central Mississippi
    I'm glad I found this thread. I tried to get this working last night. I got the iPhone app to connect to the repeater and could see the preview for a few seconds then it would disconnect.

    I just have missed some small setting.

    It seems that it worked then the gopro or app saw it wasn't connected to a proper device and dropped. I had different security on the phone side of the router than the gopro. I bet they need to be the same.