Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Extending GoPro using DDWRT?

Discussion in 'FPV (First Person View)' started by BostonFlyer, Jul 23, 2014.

  1. BostonFlyer

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have a WRT54G with DDWRT installed. I'd love to extend the GoPro's network so I can get better FPV range with my GoPro. I own the FC40 which operates at 5.4ghz so I wanted to avoid a FPV option that operates on 5.8 (the GoPro is 2.4ghz)

    Does anyone have a how-to?
     
  2. DKDarkness

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
  3. BostonFlyer

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    I spent a good three hours trying to get this to work :-( still nothing

    DO you have a step by step?
     
  4. DKDarkness

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    Did you make it work as a normal wifi extender for your home network first? Just to figure out where you got stuck.
     
  5. Miika

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    Using GoPro's own video feed via WiFi aint FPV... Its FirstPersonLatencyView... The latency is so huge even with the 3+ that I wouldnt suggest to anyone actually flying with it.
     
  6. DKDarkness

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    Using a Phantom isn't aerial photography, I would recommend using a full sized helicopter.

    I believe the topic is "Extending GoPro using DDWRT?". Keep posts on topic.
     
  7. Miika

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    You should look on to adding 2,4ghz FPV system instead of trying to increase the range of GoPro's WiFi. The latency is so horrible in GoPro 3+ and 3 that it makes no sense to use it for flying.
     
  8. tmartin62

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Central Mississippi
    I'm glad I found this thread. I tried to get this working last night. I got the iPhone app to connect to the repeater and could see the preview for a few seconds then it would disconnect.

    I just have missed some small setting.

    It seems that it worked then the gopro or app saw it wasn't connected to a proper device and dropped. I had different security on the phone side of the router than the gopro. I bet they need to be the same.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Extending GoPro using Forum Date
GoPro wifi extending Phantom 2 Help May 11, 2014
Extending GoPro 3 WiFi Photos and Video May 1, 2014
Extending GoPro Photos and Video Sep 1, 2013
Extending range P3S General Discussion Apr 23, 2017
Any sense in extending the wire antenna on the P3S? Standard/4k Discussion Feb 5, 2017