extended landing gear

Reaction score
does the compass have to be at the same elevation from the ground as the orig. one? longer cable? Tried the search but no joy

does the compass have to be at the same elevation from the ground as the orig. one? longer cable? Tried the search but no joy

Attachments

• 511Qe6opQdL._SL500_SL135_.jpg
    511Qe6opQdL._SL500_SL135_.jpg
    5.5 KB · Views: 440
I don't believe that makes a difference but it needs to be positioned like on stock legs...straight ahead and I don't think it is supposed to be tilted which seems to happen when guys try to mount on extended gear because cable is not long enough to reach compass if it's down on straight part of leg. May I ask, why are you putting extended landing gear?

I concur with what Monte55 said, and asked.

The compass is not concerned with how high it is off the ground, it needs to be aligned with the NAZA module and plumb. Plumb means mounted straight up and down, NOT at an angle.

I have a gimbal and GoPro mounted on my FC40 and do not like the added weight of the "extended landing gear". My gimbal will shake and shiver if it touches ANYTHING. That's why I cut out a rectangle in a piece of 3/8" packing foam. Just put something under the gear while the Phantom is warming up. It's simple and doesn't add weight, or the time and money to do the mod. It also keeps the birds feet out of the mud. :D

I have go pro and Walkera G2D... I didn't want the extra weight/drag of bigger landing gear (which I only need at the beginning and end of each flight!) so I have a small board with two plinths fixed on it on which I place the Phantom for warm up and take off. I then either tilt the camera fully UP before landing, or hand catch.