Experiences dealing with complaints?

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm a newbie here so I apologise if there's already a thread somewhere discussing this, (I looked but couldn't find anything!)

Having had my Phantom V+ for a week or so now I thought it was time to venture out of my garden and start shooting some more interesting shots. So I ventured to a field a short walk from my house (I live in the countryside) the field is publicly owned and is surrounded by crop fields however there is one small privately owned plot with some animals and sheds etc so I made a point of not flying over it, not wanting to annoy anyone given the current bad press drones are receiving here in the UK.

So my flight comes to and end and I'm packing up when a man appears (the landowner of the private plot) who insists that I've been flying over his land, says I'm lucky he didn't shoot my phantom down with his shotgun and demands to see what footage I have.

I insisted I hadn't been over his property and showed him everything I had taken, proving me right. At which point he realises I haven't done anything wrong but warns me not to fly anywhere near his land again and leaves.

To be honest I'm a little shaken by the experience, despite knowing I was not in the wrong. The thought of losing my Phantom to some trigger happy gun owner while completely within the law makes me feel a little sick :cry:

It'd be interesting to hear other experiences like mine and how you deal with people like this?

First off unless you fly low and slow (less than 50 feet) over people's property the likelyhood of being shot down is very unlikely. A well placed heavy load of buckshot from a shotgun may do the trick but someone would have to be a pretty **** good shot to hit your moving bird at that altitude with a single projectile firearm.