Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Existing Outdoor Network

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by Sundiver, Dec 24, 2013.

  1. Sundiver

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey all, I have an existing outdoor network that covers 50 acres. I realize the Vision comes with a "wifi booster", but is there any way I can tie it into my existing network? As the network is already in place and gets excellent coverage across the area it would greatly increase the range of the Vision.
     
  2. iDrone

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California USA
    Possibly, but you'd still be limited to the range of your Control Signal which is anywhere between 750' - 3200' (stock) based on reports posted on this board.

    iDrone
     
  3. Sundiver

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Right, I figured that would be the case. I happen to have a nice patch antenna that I think may suit the bill for the control channel.
    http://hawkingtech.com/products/hawking ... D12DP.html

    Now, I know how it works on a standard network, my question is, can anyone think of any reason it won't broadcast separately on both bands if I connect one lead to the booster and the other to the controller?
     
  4. iDrone

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California USA
    I think that antenna would work perfectly, esp since it has a pair of dual-pol 2.4's in it. I'm currently testing a triple-patch setup w/excellent results out to 1500' but then landscape eclipses my line-of-site, so I need a good-weather day and a different location to complete distance tests. But back to your antenna, connect both leads from your repeater plus your TX and I believe you'll get very good results (farther than you'll be ever able to see w/o binoculars anyways).

    iDrone
     
  5. Sundiver

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea well, that's the problem I run into. My farm is heavily forested and hilly. While I won't be flying below the treeline obviously and I sit on the highest point, I'd still like the power reserve to punch through the occasional unexpected obstacle.