Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Everythings looks okey, but it refuse to take off?

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by Pata Sweden, Sep 20, 2016.

  1. Pata Sweden

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hello all good people!
    I am rookie on this forum so please tell if I am doing anything wrong;)
    When I start my P3 everything seems to be ok. It´s linked with the RC and it start warming up when I moving left and right controls down to the middle. When I´m pressing the left control forward the motors turns faster. But not fast enough for leaving the ground. When I try auto take off it leave the ground about 30 cm, but with no control at all. I know, we dont sending up our Phantoms without having control. Batterys 100%. Any ideas?
     
  2. Michael Humphrey

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    26
    Wow, scary to lift off with no control. I have never heard of this issue, but try it in the simulator mode and see if it obeys the commands. I take it the controller is fully charged also?
     
  3. Pata Sweden

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    4
  4. ROD PAINTER

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    48
    Did you do all calibrations? IMU, Compass, Gimbal. Is everything updated?
     
  5. Pata Sweden

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    4
    The compass a few times but not the IMU and Gimbal. Thanks a lot. I'll do it tomorrow. Hope it will work. I'll be back anyway


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  6. ROD PAINTER

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    48
    Make sure you do imu and gimbal calibrations on a perfectly level surface. Compass calibration outside away from anything metal and electrical lines!
     
  7. Pata Sweden

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yes, you made me see a serious clip on Youtube about calibration I will also find a better area for calibrating compass.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  8. ROD PAINTER

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    48
    Hope everything works out and happy flying!!!!!!
     
  9. Ken Nash

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2016
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire, England
    Also try re-installing the GO-APP
     
    ROD PAINTER likes this.
  10. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,625
    Likes Received:
    362
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    Welcome to the forum!,

    We don't slowly add throttle, go full about a second and the let controls go back to center.

    I like this chat on IMU, don't put in the refer though.
    IMU Calibration

    This on compass
    Compass Calibration, A Complete Primer

    I would do a remote calibration for sure.

    When you try to fly again, have both switches up S1, S2.
    Don't go up unless you get a safe to fly with GPS, on landing use the left stick down method.

    Keep us up to date!

    Remember,
    Phantoms don't fall out of the sky, they try to RTH to china. (RodPad) :eek:
    :)

    Rod
     
  11. cpmwi

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did a stupid thing one day and switched the controls to make it similar to when I play FPSs. Are you sure you are not trying to go forward instead of up? Check your control setup.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  12. Pata Sweden

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    4
    I´ve followed your tips with re-installing Go-App and calabrating compass, remote , IMU and gimbal. I´ve also relinked RC. And guess what? I can fly again;) I have two RC and one of them was, of some reason, in the wrong mode. So, all of you have helped me. Still, something is wrong because I´m getting warnings about the compass and in the same moment I loose GPS. Not all the time but to many times. Ideas??? Of course I´ve made new compass calibration and after that restarting aircraft and RC. But as I said, I can fly and it feels like most of the problems are solved. Thanks a lot!