Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Everything works, but get error with iPhone app when taking photo/video

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by Dave Winpenny, Aug 18, 2015.

  1. Dave Winpenny

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    I am new to this forum - its great to be here.

    My Phantom Vision 2+ is back from repair (long story but basically was vandalised by Iberia Airlines!).

    Just took it out for its first flight and everything works EXCEPT I can't take any photos or video.

    My iPhone links okay and I get a video image back when its flying okay. Can operate the gimbal and make the camera move from the app okay.

    BUT I can't take a photo or video!
    Whenever I touch either photo or video I get Error displayed on the iPhone screen and no picture is taken.

    Have done the normal things; rebind, reformat SSD, etc etc etc. Have searched all over the web and can't find anything that helps.

    Do you have any ideas?

    Hope you can help.

    Dave
     
  2. RoyVa

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    2,246
    Likes Received:
    449
    Location:
    Virginia
    What SD card do you have and is it formatting ok. See if it shows ok on the OSD
     
  3. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Use the physical button on the gimbal next to the led. Don't worry about starting the app.
    Press once for photo and hold for video. When done, remove card and look on PC. This will test if its the card or the app.
     
  4. Dave Winpenny

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Mako79 and RoyVa,

    SD card is fine - formats okay - both on Mac as well as within the app

    When I took a pictures and video with the gimbal button everything was fine.

    So from this I assume that the camera is in good shape.

    Any further suggestions welcome - wiring? pc board? app? Aaaarrrggghhhh

    Dave
     
  5. Adam Mullins

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    13
    I bought a newer Class 10 SD card.. Wasn't writing fast enough.
     
  6. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Use another iPhone to test. Sounds like error is phone/app based.
    Have you spoke to the repairers and ask what tests were made??
     
  7. Dave Winpenny

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Mako79,
    MANY thanks for the hint - it was the app!!!!! I tried it with my iPad and it worked.
    So deleted the app from my iPhone and reloaded it and bingo - all is good.

    Strange!

    Thanks again for the help.
    Dave