Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

ESD Error/ Warranty??

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Sterling, Feb 11, 2016.

  1. Sterling

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hello all,

    I have had my P3A for just a few weeks now, and after a crash (Which made me have to repair my gimbal) I was back up and running last week. I have had several flights since my crash and all was good. Today, I installed the prop guards and went out to fly. immediately got the ESD error and have tried everything to try and resolve it. Assuming I have to send it in to DJI for repair, what are the chances they'll cover it under warranty??

    I don't think this has anything to do with the crash, probably something from the prop guards got into one of the motors.

    Thanks!
     
  2. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,119
    Likes Received:
    1,652
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    It seems you used longer screw/s to mount the prop guard. Were they DJI prop guards? If yes then you are covered?

    One or more motor needs to be replaced.
     
  3. Sterling

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    6
    (I just private messaged you)

    I think third party prop guards caused the problem (but would DJI be able to tell?? :rolleyes:)

    What are the chances I actually damaged the ESC modules on the board?? Do you think it's just the motors?
     
  4. John Locke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2,934
    Likes Received:
    1,105
    Location:
    Yorba Linda, CA
    Take of the prop guards and use the stock screws and see what happens. The ESC circuitry isn't near the motors, all 4 ESCs are on the motherboard.
     
  5. Sterling

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    6
    Tried that... Still am esc error.

    Also I meant that what are the chances the esc modules were burned out because of this
     
  6. John Locke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2,934
    Likes Received:
    1,105
    Location:
    Yorba Linda, CA
    It's possible. Are you using the DJI prop guards? I suggest you do an analysis of the length of screws you used. Measure the difference in length and compare that to the thickness of the plastic for the prop guard.
     
  7. Sterling

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    6
    I'm pretty sure I accidentally started putting in a screw without the guard on by accident, I assume that's the problem. I really just want to know what the chances are that I'm going to have to replace the entire board
     
  8. WetDog

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    640
    Most likely just the motor.... Fix that first.
     
  9. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,599
    Likes Received:
    740
    Location:
    Australia
    It shouldnt be covered if you used too ling a screw as obstructed the motor.
     
  10. Erroll

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    South Africa
    And yet you still want to repair against the warranty??

    :confused:
     
  11. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,599
    Likes Received:
    740
    Location:
    Australia
    Watranty is designed for defective parts and workmanship... not owners of products doing coming unstuck doing modifications.... act dumb and they might fix it for free.
     
    dirtybum likes this.
  12. Sterling

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    6
    That's what I plan on doing, imo it's absurd that putting a screw in halfway bricks my bird. Very poor design if you ask me.

    Hopefully it's just the motors, if it is I'll probably be able to get them do it for free?
     
  13. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,314
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    It wouldnt be from putting the screw in,realizing it was the wrong one, taking it out installing the right one and then flying! It would be from putting the wrong one in and starting the motors. But I think you're right you should play stupid
     
  14. Sterling

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    6
    I never tried to start it with a screw in without the prop guards on too. Maybe the screws are too long altogether.

    The motors never spun when I tried to start it, just an immediate ESC error, do you guys think that means just the motors are problematic, or the entire ESC?

    Note: When I told DJI it was an ESC error they even paid for my shipping, that's promising.
     
  15. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,599
    Likes Received:
    740
    Location:
    Australia
    Very likely one or more esc gone which means new main board.
     
  16. Sterling

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thanks! But what makes you say that? It just differs from what other people have told me. Most have said tht if the motors never spun it's a good thing, the ESC modules are probably fine and it's just the motors. What leads you to believe it's a bad thing?
     
  17. Trackman1

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    You could just change out the one motor and see where that takes you.