Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

ESC status error problem after upgrading to 1.9.60

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by AeroVisionz, Jun 17, 2016.

  1. AeroVisionz

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Perth Western Australia
    After upgrading to the latest firmware yesterday and flying two batteries with absolutely no problems at all, the third battery is popping up an 'ESC status error' on the screen. Motors won't start, green ready to fly banner at the top. Any ideas ? (The message on the attached image was the exact same message that I got in the field)
    ESC error.jpg
     
    #1 AeroVisionz, Jun 17, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2016
  2. IKx2CF

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have the exact same issue. I flew 1 battery perfectly fine, popped in #2 and got the same error message you are seeing.

    To answer your question on downgrading, you just put the old firmware .bin file in the root folder and restart the aircraft. It will go through the cycle and downgrade you.

    However, after doing this, the error message persists!

    Really frustrating.
     
  3. MikeyOnline

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    116
    So to be sure I understand, it's only happening with one battery? The other batteries don't produce that error? If that's the case, maybe try running the FW upgrade again with the problem battery in the AC: maybe the battery FW didn't update properly?

    Mike
     
  4. IKx2CF

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Negative. I successfully flew around using a full battery. When I try to fly again with any battery including the one that originally worked I get the error message.

    I am on with DJI support. They have nothing useful so far.
     
  5. IKx2CF

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    The sad part is that if you find this forum post its probably already too late. DJI should take this firmware down immediately!
     
  6. SGs

    SGs

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Seattle
    **** that's unfortunate. Hope you guys get a resolution soon.
     
  7. AeroVisionz

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Perth Western Australia
    It happens with the remaining 2 batts that I had. I haven't tried it yet with the first 2 that I had successful flights with. Charging them now and will try to fire up
     
  8. AeroVisionz

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Perth Western Australia
    Glad to know in a way that I'm not the only one lol.
    Please keep us updated. I have contacted the dealer that I purchased it from. Still haven't heard back.
     
  9. AeroVisionz

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Perth Western Australia
    Update:
    Batteries used in the successful flights (#1 and #2) now come up with the error.
    Downgraded to 1.8.80 successfully with batt #1 in the AC and the error still comes up.
     
  10. IKx2CF

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    This must be what we paid extra for. Please write back if you figure anything out because I'm pretty much at a loss with this thing.
     
  11. AeroVisionz

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Perth Western Australia
    I noticed at one point (can't exactly remember when after the firmware upgrade) that there was an 'ESC status' line on the screen where it lists the status of the AC (and where you calibrate the compass) I think I saw it just the once and never again. Somehow this seems related to me to the problem we are having. I also posted on the Facebook DJI Support page
     
  12. IKx2CF

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    What's frustrating is that the speed controllers are almost certainly fine since we were both able to fly and land successfully at first.

    I'm not really keen on sending this out for repairs just yet. Hopefully we don't have a unicorn problem here and enough others see this issue to warrant a response from DJI other than "send it to us."
     
    AeroVisionz likes this.
  13. AeroVisionz

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Perth Western Australia
    Yup I agree
     
  14. AeroVisionz

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Perth Western Australia
    I have changed the thread title to clearly specify the issue.
     
  15. AeroVisionz

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Perth Western Australia
  16. Noodle

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    178
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    That's scary. I just received my P3A back from DJI repair a couple of weeks ago after an ESC error. Currently on FW 1.8, definitely won't update mine to 1.9 for now :eek:
     
  17. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,144
    Likes Received:
    1,659
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    I took a plunge today and updated my P3P and all batteries with the latest FW 1.9.60. I will fly tomorrow and publish my results. Some one has to take a calculated risk with full knowledge of the consequences and I did it.
     
  18. AeroVisionz

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Perth Western Australia
    Hope it all goes well with your flight. Can you also look out for the 'ESC status' line that I have never notice before in other firmware updates. I think it will appear below the IMU status and above the Compass calibrate lines (but not 100% sure)
     
  19. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,144
    Likes Received:
    1,659
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Yes I will monitor ESC status too during flights:

    ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1466234495.640833.jpg
     
    IKx2CF and AeroVisionz like this.
  20. MikeyOnline

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    116
    I've had two flights so far with two different batteries and the only thing I noticed is that when I go full up on the throttle, there is about a 1 second burst of high RPM but then it cuts way back while holding full up throttle. I never noticed that happening in 1.8.80. As a result, vertical climb rate seems reduced quite a bit from 1.8.80.

    Mike