Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

ESC F450

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by 360icon, Mar 3, 2014.

  1. 360icon

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Missouri
  2. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    You'd have to be drawing a pretty hefty amount of current to need more than the 18A, enough so that it would probably indicate you're trying to lift too much weight to begin with (on a stock 450 anyway). DJI has been selling the 18A ESC's with the F450/550 kits for a while now, and I understand they've even dropped that to 15A models with the new versions of those setups. As long as you're using those motors or anything similar the 18A should be fine.
     
  3. 360icon

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Missouri
    Thanks OI Photography!!

    I appreciate the help, wish i could return the favor! :)
     
  4. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    FYI, I recently discovered that SunnySky makes a 2212 980kv motor that might be worth checking out on the 450: http://www.ebay.com/itm/4pcs-SUNNYSKY-X ... 4897.l4276

    I have some SunnySky motors on my 550 and I love them, but the ones in that link are from their mid-range "X" series, mine are from the upper-range "V" series, so I can't speak to their relative quality. But, at that price, I think I might just try a set sometime soon on my Phantom just to know if they're junk or not.

    They also make a 2216 900kv in the V series for not much more money: http://www.buddyrc.com/sunnysky-v2216-1 ... motor.html
     
  5. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
  6. 360icon

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Missouri
    Hello

    so if i ask on the forums and tech support where i got the motors from - I've been told 18a - but the f450 arf kits and all the video on youtube the esc are 30a - I'm missing something?

    if the motors are rated for 18a and you have a 30a what can happen?
     
  7. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Nothing bad, it just means your ESC's have extra headroom to handle current...which you'll probably never need.
     
  8. 360icon

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Missouri
  9. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Those should work just fine for you, and you might want to consider either of the motor sets they sell with those as well.
     
  10. 360icon

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Missouri
  11. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN