Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

ESC error

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by mike8121, Jan 10, 2016.

  1. mike8121

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just started with this drone. Ran it in the flight simulator no problem. Updated firmware in controller, aircraft, and batteries. Installed prop guards. Got back in flight simualtor and get a ESC error prompt. Tried to start it up in garage without props still get error. Any chance theres a fix or am I going to have to send it to the factory? Crap!!
     
  2. mike8121

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyone on this please?
     
  3. Richard W

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    East Coast, USA and CANADA
    The prop guards you installed ...
    Did you use correct screws (length) for your particular model?
    Did you tighten the screws too much, etc?
    ... might be a source of your problem.
     
  4. mike8121

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought it was for the p3p. I took them off... saw small stress fractures on two arms I didn't think I tightened them to snug....what now I didn't even get to fly the thing it's brand new
     
  5. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    The prop guards came with longer screws. Did you install the ORIGINAL screws or the screws that came with the prop guards? The latter will be too long without the guards & interfere with the stators in the motors.
     
  6. mike8121

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Screws that came with the guards. Because of the added plastic of the guards I thought to use what came with them. The black and red ones, detachable ones.
     
  7. John N Kronyak

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    50
    When I bought my P3A last summer it came out of the box with a "Critical error" indication on the status LED's. I deal with BH Photo. Best customer service. Sent it back and their tech dept. figured out the problem and I had it back within a week. No problems almost 100 flights later.
     
  8. mike8121

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought the original ones would be too short
     
  9. John N Kronyak

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    50
    If they couldn't find the problem they would have refunded me or sent a new replacement.
     
  10. mike8121

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought it from drone world. It didn't come packed very well, wasn't impressed. But I don't think that was the cause.
     
  11. Richard W

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    East Coast, USA and CANADA
    You thought? The prop guard sets come with different screw sets, some come with multiple sets. The screws for P1/2 are too long for P3, and if used, will do some damage to the motors, wires, etc.

    Looks like you need to send the drone for repairs. The DJI shop is one option, but since this is not going to be a free warrant repair, you might want to send it to one of many shops that advertise on this forum. Just do your research, compare costs, reviews ... I do not know enough to recommend any particular shop.
     
  12. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    Just so I haven't misunderstood, you said you took the prop guards back off?

    If you removed them you have to install the original motor screws. Without the guards installed the ones that came with the guards are too long & will damage the motors. Also different models have different prop guard screws. The P2 needs longer screws than the P3. If you installed the wrong ones that could be the problem.

     
  13. mike8121

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    No I use the set for the phantom 3 the other packet says for phantom 1&2
     
  14. mike8121

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry I'm not clear, I took them off after I got the ecs code and put back in the original screws
     
  15. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    Do the motors turn freely by hand?
     
  16. mike8121

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I still get the ecs code though
     
  17. mike8121

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes they turn freely by hand, I've never done anything but the flight simulator
     
  18. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    You mentioned there are already cracks in the arms of a brand new Phantom. Did it come that way or did the cracks come from installing the prop guards?

    Either way its new so I would be arranging for an exchange at this point.
     
    John N Kronyak likes this.
  19. Richard W

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    East Coast, USA and CANADA
    Good idea to try this first ... might work. Good luck.
     
  20. mike8121

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know for sure. Exchange to Drone World or contact factory ?