Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Electromagnetic interference

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by wakebrdr94, Feb 23, 2016.

  1. wakebrdr94

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    5
    So I'm working the LA Boat show and was on the top level of the LA Convention center structure. We were staging boats there and I wanted to get an aerial view of the boats. I kept getting an error that there was too much electromagnetic interference and I needed to move and calibrate the compass. Every time I calibrated it failed and and gave the same message with the red bar on top saying not safe to fly. I couldn't even take off manually in Atti mode. This went on for about a half an hour, finally I had a co worker hold it above his head and it launched. I took it up, took a few fast pics, and brought it right back down. I did get a red bar for a brief moment of flight, but like I said, brought it down pretty quick.

    Any thoughts on this?

    Some boats we were taking
    [​IMG]

    A quick peek over the convention center...
    [​IMG]




    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. Air Ontario

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,271
    Likes Received:
    493
    Location:
    U.S./ Canada
    I've seen less metal in a US Battleship.

    Lots of metal in those pics. For reference, I get that same alert message when I'm within 10 ft of my cast iron chiminea in the back yard.
     
  3. Noble 1

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Oregon
    I agree with Air Ontario. Other forms of interference may be radio equipment transmitters in the area. You will definitely want to recalibrate elsewhere before flying again.

    Nice pictures!
     
  4. Energy Guy

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    101
    Are those PV solar modules on those racks? They can be large sources of EMI (electromagnetic Interference) or RFI (Radio Frequency Interference). The inverters are notorious for causing radio interference at certain frequencies. If those are solar modules, that size of a system is generating several kW output.
     
  5. wakebrdr94

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    5
    So this disrupts all flight? I'm still learning all this. I would have thought in Atti mode I could have just gone up and come back as I was not going long range. Just literally over the boats and back down.

    So I guess the question is, I always need GPS to fly? Even if not going more than say 40' away?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  6. Energy Guy

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    101
    The signal from your controller to your bird is carried on radio waves. If that signal is being interfered with, then there can be no control. Likely the software tells you there is a problem sending and receiving the instructions for flight, thus the alert message. You have two sets of radios: One radio set is for transmitting instructions for the props to spin at the proper pace for lift, pitch, yaw. The other radio set transmits your video capture. The GPS is there for help positioning the bird relative to the location of the satellites. Interfere with any of those devices electrically and you lose the full functionality of those delicately balanced electronic systems. So choose your surroundings for flying with that in mind and you will avoid problems.
     
  7. Richard McGregor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hamilton/Niagara area, Ontario, Canada
    What about baseball fencing.....I had three in a open park and received that error? I landed ASAP.
    Will simple telephone lines bother it?
     
  8. gvsukids

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    30
    Power lines will when directly under or over the craft.
     
  9. Glock4me

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Roanoke, VA
    I found out trying to inspect a cell tower took out the signal but I was able to pull away and regain signal. Whew!


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  10. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,681
    Likes Received:
    5,712
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
  11. Squirrel!

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    809
    Likes Received:
    259
    Using the P3S? Nice vid! How long did it take you to edit?
     
    dirkclod likes this.
  12. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,681
    Likes Received:
    5,712
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Not long buddy , me no good at that stuff . I did that for a joke awhile back picking on someone talking about flying around those things .
    I don't recommend doing that but when someone tells me ya can't do it I try :)
    Me not exactly right in the head ;)
    Yes it was the P3S
     
    J Dot and Squirrel! like this.
  13. gvsukids

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    30
    With new update I was flying in a field where previously I had no problems, but I kept getting "strong interference, be careful when flying long distances." Didn't seem to effect the flight, but I'm wondering if this new update had something to do with detecting more interference.
     
  14. Bigmike2016

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, AZ
    I have been getting lots of interference some places to a point it won't display the camera it's crazy that or if there is other wifi signals in the area it's crazy


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app