Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Ekon h9

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by Ethan, Nov 29, 2015.

  1. Ethan

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi everybody, has anyone ever heard of the Ekon H9 4k camera, I was wondering if it would fit in a h3/h4-3d Gimbel. The guy at the store said that it was mad to look and be exactly like a gopro but for 1/4 of the price
     
  2. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,105
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    The price is cheap enough but the USB ribbon will not work with that camera because USB connector on the camera is reversed. The other thing is it the same width and depth and it may not be.
     
  3. Ethan

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    2
    OK thank you jason
     
  4. Djinn

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    2
    @Ethan i was wondering the same thing. I am getting an eken h9 soon. Have you found anything else on it? Have you tried it on your gimbal yet?
     
  5. Ethan

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    2
    No not yet I am getting a new gimbal soon and I don't have the camera yet... I emailed eken and they said that all of the dimensions of ekan h9 are the same as the hero 4 @Djinn
     
  6. Djinn

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    2
    I hope so. I will be getting my eken soon so ill see but just so yiu know you will need an adapter from mini usb to micro usb for the camera to connect to the gimbal. If i get my camera before you get your gimbal ill tell you if it works. If you get your gimbal first can you respond and tell me how it works? Thanks
     
  7. Ethan

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ya sure no problem @Djinn
     
    Djinn likes this.
  8. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,105
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    If both of intend to use the ekan h9 on a zenmuse gimbal it will not work because the USB connector is facing the back of the camera
     
  9. Djinn

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    2
    A short usb extension cable can fix that right?
     
  10. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,105
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    First off what kind of gimbal are you going to mount it if any? What transmitter and receiver are you going to use? Do you know for a fact that the USB connector on this camera even outputs a video signal.

    You can buy a JS 4000 camera for less but it will not fit on Zenmuse gimbal as it's a bit larger then a GoPro. You can also buy used GoPro 3+ black and Hero 4 black for half the price on ebay but not with all the accessories. Who needs the accessories if all you're going to do is mount it on a quad.
     
    #10 jason, Dec 1, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2015
  11. Djinn

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    2
    Dang you are right... the eken h9 does not output audio or video out the usb port, but he hdmi port. I guess ill return the camera once i get it and get a gopro silver 3+ or something.
     
  12. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,105
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    The big question is what you were going to mount the camera on. Did you intend to mount it on a gimbal and which kind?

    Have you notice that each I answer your questions or post a reply that I quote your post? There is a reply button down in the lower right corner and it not only is use to quote but also highlights the flag in the gray bar with a red number so those replying to your question know they have an answer.
     
  13. Djinn

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    2
    Sorry im on the app so I literally just figured out how to do that :) i have a zenmuse h3-3d and I intend to mount it on that.But that doesnt really matter anymore due to some issues i found i will be getting a gopro instead.
     
  14. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,105
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    I purchased both the 3+ black and hero4 black used at half of what it would have cost new. Of course I use my cameras for other thing other the P2 and have enough hardware for two cameras but I hero a hero 2, 3+silver/black and hero 4 black. The h3-3d is a nice gimbal and works great on windy days.

    Now all you need to do is get a good FPV system if you don't already have one.
     
  15. Ethan

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    2
  16. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,105
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    If that is what you want fine but you'd have to modify how it is mounted and wired to your P2. Myself I'd prefer to mount a plug n play gimbal that was designed for the P2 and be done with it.

    If you live in the US www.bhphotovideo.com has the h4-3d new for $284.99 or a use one for $229.95. I bought mine used from them and there wasn't
    a mark on it and it work s perfectly. Look I'm 77 on a fixed income and don't have money to waste on junk that needs to be modified in order to use it.
     
  17. kenjancef

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    237
    Location:
    East Providence, RI
    I believe the camera is a Eken, I just bought one for $46, got it for my 8 year old son as he was begging for one, but wasn't about to drop $300-$400 on a "real" GoPro. I am building a quad right now, so maybe I'll rig it up in it somehow, not for FPV, but for video recording. For $46, how can you go wrong???
     
  18. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,105
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Maybe because the Eken USB connector is backwards and doesn't output video or audio.
     
  19. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
  20. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,105
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Go back and look at that cameras photo #6 the USB connector is facing the back of the camera which will not work on a h3-3d which the OP has. Plus the fact the cameras 4.3cm to dept where a GoPro is only 2 cm. Then the USB port doesn't output video nor audio but HDMI does which doesn't work with the P2's FPV system. If you didn't look at the specs 4K @10fps and 2.7K @15fps not go for ultra hd video footage at those frame rates
     
    #20 jason, Dec 3, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2015