eBay Quick Release Prop Guards

Reaction score
Hi all,

I've just ordered a Phantom 3 Standard (refurbished). As I understand it, Phantoms don't come with prop guards (right?), but being a newbie I think I'll want them, and I don't want to pay the price of the DJI ones (+ expensive postage to NZ!).

Do any of you have experience of any good, light, strong, prop guards for the P3 Std from eBay? I see heaps there, but would like specific recommendations, please. I'm after:
- Quick release
- Ideally under US$10
- Ideally lightweight
- Ideally strong
- Ideally good coverage (i.e. almost 180 degrees...or more so I don't need to use string).
And optionally, if I want guards which don't have screws at all, what should I search for? "Clip on"? (Yes, I know the quick release types don't require you do touch the screws each time you take the guards off.)

If you have had a good experience from a specific eBay product, please say what you like about it.

I've seen some other posts on similar topics, but haven't found anything specifically helpful yet.

Thanks.
Terry

Last edited:
Thanks for the prompt response and answers, msinger!

I'm aware of the guards with screw on bases. Do you know of any good guards which clip on/off without the screw-on base?

Reactions: tel7
Thanks skeptic49.
So the P3S shell is polystyrene? Have you had any cracking on yours?

I forget the material. It seems that not all Phantoms have the issue. I only have 1 hour on mine but no cracks. I installed the prop guards and hopefully this will prevent any cracks from developing.

Hi again skeptic (and others),

I see on the link you gave me, someone said "However, the P3 shell is polystyrene, not ABS or Polycarbonate...".
Haven't been able to find anything to back that claim up yet. I didn't realise polystyrene could be so hard/strong.