Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

ebay gimbal pitch wiring set up

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Northwest_Scene, Apr 3, 2014.

  1. Northwest_Scene

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    bouught a cheap ebay gimbal, unsure what brand "basecam eletronics? Need hepl trying to set up pitch control, ive got the phantom 1 with the naza 2. has anyone sucessfully made their work etc. Ive tried youtube with no sucess. Ive got the latest 4.02 firmware and have the gimbal on the software turned on also, with a defualt setting. Calibrating gimbal toggle from behind the tx seems fine, but its not doing anything to my pitch. heres that ebay listing
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/221350453033?ss ... 1497.l2649
     
  2. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    Does that one even have a lead to connect to the Naza?
    It looks like there may be only power leads in which case it will maintain the one position but you need move it manually.
     
  3. ericdes

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    You should have 2 sets of wires, one that is for 12 volts power, and the other, that may not have been pictured, for the pitch and roll controls.

    On my gimbal, there are small pins that wires can connect to that came included. Take one and plug it in the top left pin on the gimbal. Then fish that wire through a leg and plug it into the Nazas lower pin on the left hand side. This will control the Pitch.

    Second top pin on the gimbal, lower second left pin on the Naza controls the roll.
    Activate gimbal in the assistant software.

    Do you have a Phantom 1, 1.2 or 1.1.1??
     
  4. amrflyingdude

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Power it using the Aux power wires. Take a jumper from the F2 bottom pin from naza and plug it in to the most upper left jumper on the gimbal. Do a 6 axis advance calibration and will work like a charm
     
  5. Northwest_Scene

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0


    I have the phantom 1.1.1 and I do have a wire from top left pin of the gimbal that's connected to the naza v2 pin "F2 lower pin" , so your saying that I also need to put a second wire that goes where exactly? Lower left which is the F1 then to control roll also?
     
  6. Northwest_Scene

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did a calbritarion on the dji software but not sure if its the six axis though. Just the basic RC calibration, I believe its the X1 or X2 and the toggle in my tx works and moves the slider on the software.
     
  7. amrflyingdude

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Download the manual form here, I believe on page 10 shows how to do an advance calibration. Basically you need to calibrate the Gyro while holding the IMU steady in all 6 positions (one at a time)
     
  8. JaysDMC

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe we have the same gimbal. The seller emailed me a .doc with installation instructions and various diagrams. PM me your email address and I'll gladly email you what I have. Maybe it'll help.
     
  9. Northwest_Scene

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    PM Sent, have you got yours wired up for pitch control?
     
  10. Northwest_Scene

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    got it to work, so i needed two wires hooked up from bottom and top of left gimbal pins which goes to f2 pins bottom and top also...now i just have to find the right pitch parameters or set up. Anyone have played with those settings?
     
  11. brooker81

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    can any one help send me the .doc setup im struggling to get this working. brooker81@yahoo.com please. Also how many wires do i need to have on it just 1 to the bottom pin on the naza and to the top left on the board is that corrrect.
     
  12. Northwest_Scene

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    ive got two wires. top and bottom of naza then top and bottom left side on gimbal board. Which gives me the pitch control. i upgraded to latest naza firmware also.
     
  13. Mpaz808

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same set up and still can't get the gimbal pitch control to work.
    I have two wires coming from the NAZA F2 port. Wire 1 is on the bottom left pin of NAZA F2 going to the top left pin on the gimbal. Wire 2 is on the top left pin of NAZA f2 port going to the bottom left pin on the gimbal.
    Went into NAZA assistant and turned on the gimbal switch.
    Went in to the RC controls on the NAZA assistant to verify that the X1 slider on the UI is moving when I move the pitch control lever on my radio back and forth.
    Performed an X1 calibration as well as a command sticks calibration
    Performed an advanced IMU Calibration (twice)

    After all this I still cannot get the pitch control to work. Sigh. Wondering if you folks resolved your similar gimbal issues and can help me trouble shoot this.
     
  14. markstoys

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    19
    Same problem I'm having hope someone has the answer