Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

easy fpv

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Whiteram, Apr 2, 2014.

  1. Whiteram

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    any recommendations for the easiest FPV kit install on a V 1.1.1? Not looking for best bang for the buck...just ease of install.

    Thanks!

    ~Rich
     
  2. Suwaneeguy

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    22
    One thing that is a MUST.
    The FPV hub!
    Removal of the case and soldering is NOT required.
    Just plug the cables in the right spots and you're done.
     
  3. kydan

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN
    Best place to buy a hub?
     
  4. Whiteram

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    all you FPV guys...nobody recommends what they are using? must be some unhappy FPV consumers eh? lol
     
  5. FangsCPO

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Chula Vista, CA
    Storm Deluxe from Heli-Pal.
     
  6. Howzit

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Doesn't get much simpler than FatShark Predator v2 kit.

    Give it a week or two after than and you'll be opening up the Phantom to solder things and clean it up. :)

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Whiteram

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    LOOKS LIKE A QUALITY, NEATLY BUILT KIT. HOW DIFFICULT TO INSTALL ON A V 1.1.1? AND CAN I GET 50 METERS RANGE?
     
  8. Howzit

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just velco the video transmitter to the bottom and attach it to the battery (Which will require a very small notch in the battery door). You can use a file, a drill, or I guess your teeth? lol.

    On the 1.1.1, if you don't mind VERY basic soldering, you can pull the power lead from the leg and power it that way.

    Here is what my 1.1.1 looks like with FPV and iOSD. Also, I've taken mine out to 1km right now with absolutely no break up.

    [​IMG]

    Before I ran the power to the lead in the leg:

    [​IMG]

    1km (.6 miles) flight:

    [youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VFBMPxx9Uyk[/youtube]
     
  9. Whiteram

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    Impressive! To say the least. Recommend a retailer?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  10. Howzit

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got mine from here:

    http://www.getfpv.com/fatshark-predator ... amera.html

    It's *very* easy, don't let any of it intimidate you. Once you start digging in, you'll realize how easy it all is.
     
  11. Howzit

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just keep in mind - 5.8ghz works really well to fairly long distances, but it must be line of site. If you drop down behind anything (especially at distance), you can expect it to drop video. You'll need to go down to 1.2/1.3ghz video equipment to do low altitude (behind trees, buildings, etc) type FPV flying.

    5.8ghz will do 'ok' behind a tree or two and/or some small obstructions at close range/low altitude.
     
  12. Mike@PixelMotiv

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Is it difficult to transmit a video signal from the FPV cam & the gopro?
     
  13. Howzit

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you mean switch between the 2 or use the GoPro as the FPV cam? If switching, there are solutions for that. If you mean to use the GoPro as the main FPV cam (I wouldn't recommend it, personally), then you can delete the 600TVL out of the equation and use a cable from RMRC:

    http://www.readymaderc.com/store/index. ... ts_id=1296
     
  14. Whiteram

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    +1 Howzit !...you've been most helpful. Thank You Very much!
     
  15. Whiteram

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    okay...fatshark looks to be a great quality and easy system to install...however, not feeling good about the goggle thing. i think id rather have a monitor for observance so i can still look up to get bearing on the phantom.

    anything out there that is of quality, ease of install with a monitor? Howzit??
     
  16. Howzit

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Keep in mind, the FatShark goggles also have a video out (cables included) to hook up to any "TV". You could always go with the FS kit and purchase any "TV" you wish, like a 7-10". I wouldn't worry about finding the highest resolution possible, as video is transmitted at SD - so, an SD resolution screen (640x480) would probably look better anyways.
     
  17. funtimegrandpa

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    6
    1.3ghz on phantom 2

    I enjoy my 5.8ghz setup but I would like to fly low over some wooded areas and want to install a 1.3ghz setup on my phantom 2. I was told because of my 2.4ghz TX and the GPS that I would have a problem. Does anyone have knowledge on this and if it can work. And is there any way possible to utilize my Attitude goggles?

    thanks for the help

    Grandpa Jake
     
  18. Nidge

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Otley, West Yorkshire, UK
    Re: 1.3ghz on phantom 2

    Hi Jake

    If you haven't already seen it the latest YouTube Video from Trent, MyGeekshow, demonstrates very well the pitfalls that transpire when trying to use a 1.3GHz video link with a 2.4GHz control link. If it wasn't for the fact he was also using a 900MHz telemetry and secondary control link he would have certainly lost his plane.

    One of the reasons why trying to accomodate these two frequencies on a single platform is that they are harmonicly linked. Even though the second harmonic will be substantially lower than the fundamental frequency it will be, due to the close proximity of the two systems to each other, strong enough to swamp the front end of the 2.4GHz receiver and thus essentially making it deaf.

    Regards

    Nidge
     
  19. funtimegrandpa

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    6
    good enough for me thanks