Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

E300 motors

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by Fdnyfish, Aug 4, 2014.

  1. Fdnyfish

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Barnesville, PA
    Has anyone tried the E300 motors on the P2?

    I need to replace my motors and was wondering if the E300 motors would be better then the stock motors.



    Thanks
     
  2. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Yeah I think a bunch of us have been using them and they seem to be smoother and quieter than the stock motors, and at least as efficient if not more. I still have my tmotors but I think I'm just going to leave the E300's on...much better value and seem to perform just as well.

    if you happen to be anywhere near Reading this week, I'm visiting family in that area and would be happy to let you see the E300's on mine.
     
  3. Fyod

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Central EU
    ^ Did you use the ESCs that came with them or did you solder to the stock boards?
    Happen to have any pictures?
     
  4. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    I just used the original 18A ESC's from my P1, I'd attached bullet connectors to them a long time ago so the E300's were plug-n-play for me.

    I'm ashamed to admit it, but I actually don't have any pics (yet) of the E300 install...I'll probably have the shell open again tomorrow anyway and I'll try to grab some then.
     
  5. Fyod

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Central EU
    That would be very much appreciated.
     
  6. Fdnyfish

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Barnesville, PA
    Do the stock p2 props fit on the E300's
     
  7. Fdnyfish

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Barnesville, PA
    OI appreciate the Reading offer, but not around this weekend.

    I ordered the E300 motors, just hope they work with stock P2 props.
     
  8. EMCSQUAR

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    N 44.895 W 93.354 Minnesota
    They work with stock P2 props and E300 ESCs will fit in Phantom arms.
     
  9. Fdnyfish

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Barnesville, PA
    Can I use the p2 esc's
     
  10. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Yep, the E300 motors can drop in anywhere the old DJI silver or red 2212's would work.
     
  11. Fdnyfish

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Barnesville, PA
  12. Fdnyfish

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Barnesville, PA
    Got the E300 motors installed. All works great. Thanks for the help guys.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Fyod

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Central EU
    Awesome! Noticable changes in flight characteristics and time?
     
  14. Fdnyfish

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Barnesville, PA
  15. ElGuano

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    4
    The p2 is supposed to come with e300 class motors and ESC programming from the get go.

    That said, I have a p1 and several p2s, and have a full e300 conversion (motors + ESCs + props) on my p1. The retail e300s are quieter at idle than the stock p1 motors, or the p2v+ motors, and similar to the p2 h3-3d motors. At load they all sound the same, a hornets' nest :)

    The basic p/r gains had to be dropped dramatically on the p1 with the e300 ESCs installed, making me believe that there is a significant difference not only with the p1 but also the p2s...
     
  16. Fdnyfish

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Barnesville, PA
    I am still using the stock esc's.

    However, I did notice while flying in atti mode I had more pitch than normal.

    I am still on default settings.
     
  17. ElGuano

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    4
    I think the p2 adjusts pitch maximums depending on the gimbal installed (not 100% sure, and only if it's a zenmuse). The Naza should be able to control any ESC output to match its maximums, otherwise it probably wouldn't even maintain hover. :)
     
  18. bas4241

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looks great Fd....I've got some ordered to replace mine. Will probably do the bullet connectors too. Does anyone know if the bearings are better in the E300's? I have some ceramic bearings that I got on Ebay a while ago but never used them...I wonder if it would be worth putting them in the E300's while I have everything apart?
     
  19. Fdnyfish

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Barnesville, PA
  20. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Same here, bought mine a couple of weeks ago then saw that just the other day at heli-world. Not that I needed the kit but I wouldn't mind having some ESC's in the spares box for my next build and some extra sets of blades (5 pairs!) for the same price I paid for the motors alone :roll: