Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Dynamic RTH test

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by happydays, Nov 22, 2014.

  1. happydays

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,845
    Likes Received:
    655
    Location:
    Warrenpoint, Ireland
    Finally got a break in the weather and managed to get out to test the new dynamic RTH feature.

    Works really well, but - interestingly - if you initiate a RTH and then move location, it returns to the last known location. So for example, if you were on a boat or in a moving car and lost control signal or your battery got low, it will go home to where the last known location was. And that might not be where you are!

    And the new tilt wheel on the new remote is absolutely bloody reckon' fantastic!
     
  2. doug86

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bi-Polar
    You're confusing the "Home Point" and Return to Home. They are related, but not the same thing. There is no dynamic RTH. As Geert said, once the RTH is initiated, the Home Point is fixed.
     
  3. mauizoom

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    So who can make an App for that ?
    Dynamic RTH with a loiter function at a variable distance :)
     
  4. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    If youre on a boat moving, try to regain control and flick to ioc to home lock and pull the direction stick back. This will dynamically follow you. Just remember that when its wiithin 10m radius, it will switch to ioc course lock.
     
  5. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,214
    Likes Received:
    910
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    If you move after the fact, why couldn't you take control of the flight, and then re-make a new RTH selection?
     
  6. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    If you are on an object (lets a cruise ship) that is always moving then the RTH point is locked when triggered. Hence, It will land at the point triggered. If you use IOC to HL flight mode, you can just pull the stick back and this will "follow you" dynamically.
     
  7. Old Gazer

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Eastern Oklahoma
     
  8. vortigern

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    3
    I very much agree with the last point
     
  9. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,214
    Likes Received:
    910
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    That is a cool feature that I have never paid enough attention to. Btw, just to clarify, this is in Naza mode and not Phantom mode, correct?
     
  10. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Yup. I did a walk around test in an open field.

    Make sure the ring around the radar is green and not yellow. Switch to GS mode and start moving. You will see the "H" move. Yellow means you have the function enabled but not locked. Green means its locked to the device. Also remember that it will default back to course lock mode when shes within 10m radius. This will change her flight direction/behaviour as the recorded course/direction lock is at the take off point.

    Make sense?
     
  11. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Naza. And please make sure you check the IOC (intelligent orientation control) box!!!
    And also, green ring around the radar = dynamic home point on. Yellow just means it's hasn't got lock.
     
  12. Old Gazer

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Eastern Oklahoma
    Cool. Yep I got it, I'" have to give it a try,