Dumb Newbie Questions on App & FW Upgrades

Reaction score
I'm brand new to the sport. Actually have 0 RC flight hours (650 hours as instrument rated SEL pilot), though my P3A should arrive in next few days. In preparation for that I've been Searching this Forum, reading manuals, possibly relevant threads & watching endless Utube videos. But let me apologize in advance if I missed the info I need!
I bought my P3A from a guy on eBay who was selling as he had no time to fly it; he put on less than 5 hours since he bought it in 2016. So I'm assuming he wouldn't have bothered to do the latest FW update.
I need to download the Pilot App to the ipad Air 2 I bought to use exclusively for flying. I'm pretty freaked out by what I'm reading about problems with the latest version of the Pilot App, and the lousy maps. I'd like to try downloading an earlier version of Pilot (I found that video) but I can't find any instructions on how to move the SW from my desktop to my ipad Air. Can anyone help me out there?
If I'm stuck downloading the updated version of Pilot directly to my ipad, will I then need to update the presumably older FW to get the bird flying? Or in other words, is there a relationship between SW and FW versions that must be maintained?
Thanks in advance for your help!

First of all you should know that it's used P3A and thus you should test it without making any changes. If all goes ok then plan for updates if needed.

Your first check should be to figure out if the batteries are ok. If the batteries were not maintained well they get useless and are risk to flying.

Obviously you should calibrate IMU , sticks and compass before attempting to fly.

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots