Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Drone went swimming without floaties

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by Dronego, Jun 3, 2016.

  1. Dronego

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    30
    A few weeks ago a charged everything up and took it up for a fly. At about 700 mtrs the return to home kicked in and it returned to overhead.
    I then canceled the RTH and started flying in another direction, I noticed that it was also descending slowly while flying. I stopped the flight and noticed it was still descending. DJI App was flashing aircraft disconnected and would not respond to anything I did. At about 12 mtrs up I lost everything on the app, it was like starting the app without the bird turned on. It was only 150 mtrs away from me approx. When I walked to where it came down it was sitting in a foot of water. I have had it sitting in rice for 2 weeks and about to try it with a new battery. Let you know what happens.




    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. jcoop

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    13
    Hope it works!


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  3. Dronego

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    30
    Ok have put everything back together after checking all the terminals and cleaning where necessary.
    The battery was dead so was able to borrow a battery to test.
    Turned on remote and started the App, the fired up the battery on the drone. To my surprise everything worked, the led's flashing, connected to the App and wifi.
    I went to calibrate the compass where I struck a problem. Can't seem to calibrate it I have a snapshot of the app showing this. Everything else seems to be working as normal.
    Any advise on what maybe wrong ?

    [​IMG]


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  4. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,641
    Likes Received:
    367
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    You can't start the calibration or the calibration fails, have you done an IMU calibration?
    Don't try your old battery.
     
  5. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,641
    Likes Received:
    367
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
  6. dg8882

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    52
    It would be helpful to know what exactly is going wrong here. Are you getting the red/yellow flashing lights on the arms after a calibration? Is the calibration not starting? I am assuming you are calibrating in a good location?
    If you are calibrating and it is failing, a new compass unit runs pretty cheap.
     
  7. Dronego

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    30
    Cause I was getting no response from the help section, and I need some advise on what to do


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    Phantomix likes this.
  8. Dronego

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    30
    I am about to fire it up again I will take note of the Led's and take a snapshot of the screen once it is fired up


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  9. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,641
    Likes Received:
    367
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    Sorry man, but I think the majority, looks like about 100+, could have been waiting on "Let you know what happens."
    I was, that's why I spotted your new thread, to me you had done all you good do so far!
    Until you try to bring it ALIVE:eek:
    We good?
     
  10. Squirrel!

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    809
    Likes Received:
    259
    How have you tried to calibrate the compass? The screenshot shows nothing.
     
  11. Dronego

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    30
    After turning everything on it asks to calibrate the compass. Every time I try it fails and the led's all flash red, when I try to re calibrate the led's, flash yellow and green.
    The Gimbal also wont calibrate.
    Below are two more photos

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  12. Dronego

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    30
    The calibration fails every time. IMU calibrates fine


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  13. Squirrel!

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    809
    Likes Received:
    259
    Well, that pretty much sums it all up now. You screwed the pooch when you dunked her. Personally, I'd keep it for parts and get another one.
     
  14. Dronego

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    30
    That's fine, I'm just shitty I can't get it to calibrate, until it does I can't start the motors. Every time I pull the two sticks in to start the drone motors, it says compass calibrate required first


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  15. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,641
    Likes Received:
    367
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    Squirrel!, or anybody else?
    Could a compass fix him up?
    @dg8882 Posted "If you are calibrating and it is failing, a new compass unit runs pretty cheap."
     
  16. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,641
    Likes Received:
    367
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    :)
     
  17. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,648
    Likes Received:
    5,702
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Yes it might Rod. I've had to replace one on a P2 several times because of getting water in it . Worth a try . Now on the P2 I could open the shell and replace the whole skid with the compass in it or I cold just unsnap the module from the bottom of the cable to do it . Have never messed with the Standard so not sure which way to go on it .
     
    RodPad likes this.
  18. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,648
    Likes Received:
    5,702
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    OK , just went and looked at mine and see you can get to that module on the skid. I didn't unscrew it so don't know if it's soldered on or can be snapped on .Most likely have to get the whole skid to get the compass but haven't looked for one . Is early and Arthur has my fingers to stiff to type fast yet :rolleyes:
     
  19. Squirrel!

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    809
    Likes Received:
    259
    Why? The gimbal is also messed up he said...
     
  20. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,648
    Likes Received:
    5,702
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    I didn't see that about the gimbal till now Squirrel . 1 foot off water would get that also .
    I know your legs must be tired as all I see you do is stand there on that pole ,even though you look asleep ;)
     
    RodPad likes this.