Drone and Airplane close call!

Reaction score
I swear people are going to ruin our hobby. I am a corporate jet pilot and I was flying into San Diego international and the airplane in front of me called and said to watch out because there was a drone on the final approach path. This was at about 4000 feet 12 miles from the airport. Why do people need to fly that high? I personally think footage looks way better when shot from 1000 feet and below.

Hey,

San Diegan here. This pisses me off.

What commercial drones fly at 4k feet?
There is no need for it I don't think. Only reason I could think of is mapping but buddy of mine flies the airplane that takes pictures for google maps and he doesn't even fly at 4000 feet lol.

Drones have been big on the news lately here in NY, particularly at JFK. It's amazing how stupid and irresponsible some people can be. I'm glad I'm in the hobby now, ahead of whatever regulatory reaction these people are likely to provoke.

It won't be a phantom at that height...

P3 are software limited
P2 can get there, but not enough battery to get down again, so will only do it once.

In answer to the original question, there is no point apart from forum bragging.

I am a corporate jet pilot and I was flying into San Diego international and the airplane in front of me called and said to watch out because there was a drone on the final approach path. This was at about 4000 feet 12 miles from the airport.
It's a shame you didn't get to see it and report back.
There are so many of these reports and many are at extreme heights that make you wonder what did they really see.
I suspect that at least some of these high up reports might not be drones at all.
But without any more details we can't tell much.

Hmmm could have been a UFO now they are calling them drones. 4000 ft. Common. Get real!

Not to invalidate the pilot's concern, but I would like to see some documented evidence such as video of a drone or video from a drone during these 'incursions'.