Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Downloading video?

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by Bucephalus, Dec 27, 2015.

  1. Bucephalus

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    Just got a P3 Standard and am curious how to download video using Windows Vista. When I power up the quad and plug the USB cable to my desktop it does the "installing new hardware" dance but then under "My Computer", it does not list the quad. Is there a driver I have to download from DJI? Thanks!
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,982
    Likes Received:
    5,586
    Location:
    US
    There are no drivers to install. Try removing the cable and plugging it in again.

    It's easier to transfer files with a memory card reader -- like this one.
     
  3. Bucephalus

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks, I think I figured it out. Since I didn't press the record dot on my iphone, there was no video to download. The complete lack of instructions with this quad is maddening, and I'm out in the sticks and my ISP is too slow to watch any of the tutorial videos...
     
  4. Bucephalus

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    Also, to calibrate the compass, how many times to I have to pivot in a circle while holding it? I tried twice with it flat and twice with it on edge and got "calibration failed."
     
  5. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,982
    Likes Received:
    5,586
    Location:
    US
    You need to turn 360 degrees (one time). It sometimes takes another 1/8 of a turn until the lights on the arms change to acknowledge the calibration was successful.

     
  6. GadgetGuy

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    4,459
    Likes Received:
    1,294
    Better to instead use the dedicated red video record button on the left front side of the transmitter with your index finger, while still keeping both hands and thumbs on the transmitter controls.
     
  7. barefootbeachcombing

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    US
    Did you download and read the User Manual from DJI's website?

    Lots of information there.
     
    GadgetGuy likes this.
  8. Bucephalus

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    Is there any advantage to replacing the stock 8GB microSD that came with it with the 32GB from my GoPro? Is the video recorded on the iphone or the chip? What little I can tell from the instruction manual is that the chip is just for firmware.

    Edited to add: there does not appear to be any red record button on my transmitter...just on my iphone screen.
     
  9. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,982
    Likes Received:
    5,586
    Location:
    US
    Sure. It'll give you more room to store photos and video.

    Right. Only the P3A and P3P have a record button on the remote controller.
     
  10. mandalay

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2015
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    145
    You'll sure get 4x more storage space with 32GB. Rule of thumb is 2 mins of 4K video recording for each 1GB. So with 32GB, you can get around 70-75 mins of recording on the Standard's 2.7K camera.

    There is no dedicated record button the Standard's RC; you need to use the record button in the app.
     
  11. Bucephalus

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks...so the video is recorded on the chip and not the iphone memory. They really need to include a manual for those of us with poor or non-existent internet service.
     
    J&L likes this.
  12. Bucephalus

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    Last question for the night. Is there a way to enter lat and long for using the quad to find geocaches?
     
  13. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,982
    Likes Received:
    5,586
    Location:
    US
    The video is always stored on the memory card. It's also stored on your iPhone if you are caching it (see #7 here).
     
  14. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,982
    Likes Received:
    5,586
    Location:
    US
    You cannot fly to a specific lat & long and the DJI GO app does not display the current lat & long. Some third party apps do display it -- Autopilot for example.
     
  15. GadgetGuy

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    4,459
    Likes Received:
    1,294
    My bad. You bought the Standard, which has no dedicated red record button.
    Video is recorded on the internal microSD card, so put in at least a 16GB one and have extras to replace after every flight (so you never lose a prior video, if you lose the aircraft during the next flight), as you can potentially exceed 8GB in one flight. It would also be a bummer to run out of room during a flight!
     
    #15 GadgetGuy, Dec 28, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2015
  16. Bucephalus

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks for the advice, had a very successful flight and was able to download the entire video of the flight onto my windows vista desktop. The picture quality is phenomenal but is very jerky. It looks like a second of perfect video then it jumps to,a,few seconds later and keeps doing this for the entire length. Ideas? It almost looks like a robbery at a convenience store.
     
  17. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,643
    Likes Received:
    367
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    My first thought is your computer is not powerful enough. You could copy your vid to a thumb drive and try it on a different computer.
     
  18. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,643
    Likes Received:
    367
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    I go clockwise, she went counterclockwise. She must south of the equator :)
     
  19. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    He has a Standard. No record button except in the app.

     
  20. Bucephalus

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    It also looked this way on my iphone while I was flying. It was very hard to use the iphone as a live feed because of this and flew mainly by visual contact.