Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Double Batterys

Discussion in 'Phantom 1 Discussion' started by rattydude77, May 31, 2016.

  1. rattydude77

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    liverpool ny
    Ok I haven't seen a thread on this question id like to try this DIY out. I was thinking two batterys on my Phantom 1.5 but the difference is id like to start with one battery and when the cells are low enough turn the other one on and turn the one with low cells off what do you guys think....Options are welcome....HAPPY FLYING
     
  2. Procharged97

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    993
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Canterbury, CT
    If you had one on a switch to turn off after its low on juice wouldnt it be the same as just leaving both hooked up without a switch??? Wouldnt it pull from both batteries at a slower rate? I dint think having them in a switch is beneficial. ..its just one more thing to do...hey i could be totally wrong tho
     
  3. rattydude77

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    liverpool ny
    does it pull the juice slower with them both hooked up I figured one battery to get out there and one to get back
     
  4. Procharged97

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    993
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Canterbury, CT
    Im pretty sure it pulls mah at slower rate equaling more flight time...they are hooked in parallel so voltage stays same you increase amp hours. My p3 has batt mod and no switch required..just plug em in and your good to go..way more flight time
     
  5. Procharged97

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    993
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Canterbury, CT
    Plus how would you go about hooking up a switch?
     
  6. rattydude77

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    liverpool ny
    IDK I run a 5200 mah in my 1.5 just wondering but the switch not sure wasent sure if any one has tried it yet
     
  7. Procharged97

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    993
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Canterbury, CT
    Hey its always wirth a try... then youll know if it works good or not so good... it might help others who are wondering the same thing. It's all trial and error ..i say try it!!
     
    rattydude77 likes this.
  8. Pilot_FML

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Mentor. Ohio, USA
    There's absolutely no advantage in trying to rig up a switch to do what you want. Multiple batteries would HAVE to be hooked up in parallel and that means both batteries are having power drawn from them simultaneously.

    I'm sure you already know that doubling the batteries does NOT double the flight time. You get longer flight times but the extra weight of more batteries costs you some of the flying time you'd expect to get. ANY extra weight (especially something as heavy as a battery) is also going to make the quad much more sluggish in flight.
     
    Ti22 and rattydude77 like this.