Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Don't buy the GoPro Hero 3+ for aerial photography

Discussion in 'Photos and Video' started by rilot, Oct 15, 2013.

  1. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Twyford, UK
    It looks like GoPro have really dropped the ball with the 3+.

    http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2011658

    Reading that, it seems that they have changed the focus of the lens so that it's sharper when filming things close to the camera. This has had the effect of reducing the detail at large distances. Also, there seems to be a compression issue causing stills to look muddy.

    [youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RfYuQPprbfU[/youtube]

    So, stick with your Hero 3 if you were thinking of upgrading. If you are thinking of buying a GoPro, get a normal 3 rather than a 3+ if you want the best quality when flying.
     
  2. yalag

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone know if the sharpness is a problem with stills only or video also?
     
  3. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Twyford, UK
    It's an issue with the focal point of the lens (apparently a design decision) and so yes, it affects video as well as stills but is less noticeable in video.
     
  4. syotr

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    895
    Likes Received:
    134
    I know that with previous models it was possible to unscrew the lens to swap it out or screw it in further to adjust focus. Anyone know if that is possible with the hero3+?
     
  5. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Twyford, UK
    I don't see any reason why not. The case is the same.
     
  6. ultramaze

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    I actually just got of the phone with GoPro about this issue. They said they are getting calls everyday about this issue and are working to resolve it. He said it is all a firmware issue and will be able to be fixed through a software update. I imagine there might be a user selectable mode for "close up" and "far away" focus. He said he will email me as soon as the issue is resolved. If you guys want to call them too and tell them to hurry up you can do that here 1 (888) 600 4659
     
  7. syotr

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    895
    Likes Received:
    134
    How could a firmware update possibly fix a mechanical problem? The lens is fixed focus. It is set at a precise distance from the sensor by screwing it into a threaded mount.
    They might over-sharpen the image to try and cover up the error but this is not a proper fix.
     
  8. ultramaze

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am just the messenger. I agree with you. But if they say its firmware, Ill trust them.
     
  9. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Twyford, UK
    I also can't possibly see how it could be firmware. Firmware can't fix a focus issue.
    I think they are just going to crank the in-camera sharpening up to 11 to try and mask it.
     
  10. Miika

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    How high you need to fly with GoPro3+ to start having issues with focus? I havent had any so far.
     
  11. akilakis

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0