Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Does wifi signal booster really do anything?

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by ShoRotten, Nov 19, 2015.

  1. ShoRotten

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    9
    I am planning to get it for my p3s but read a lot of rumors that it barely adds up signal. Mine goes away for 400 meters no problem, but alltitude 120 it already loses me. Will wifi signal booster work?
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,117
    Likes Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    US
    Check that you have the remote controller antenna positioned properly.

     
    ShoRotten likes this.
  3. Harrissment

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    6
    120m up is the max the p3 standard does according to dji website
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,117
    Likes Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    US
    500m is the max altitude the DJI GO app will allow.
     
    ShoRotten likes this.
  5. ShoRotten

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    9
    Yes exactly. So if following the rules in the video about antennas, how much more space can wifi signal booster give me?
    Thx
     
  6. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,117
    Likes Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    US
    Per DJI's specs, you can reach 1,000m (500m CE) under the most ideal conditions. If you're in a wide open area with absolutely no interference, you might even be able to reach beyond that.
     
    ShoRotten likes this.
  7. ShoRotten

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    9
    So in the same park, it might not give me better results, am i correct?

    P.s. btw on that link it does say that maximum altitude is 120m...so its true? :((
     
  8. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,117
    Likes Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    US
    Yep. That's the default maximum altitude. You must change it in the DJI GO app while your remote controller is connected to your Phantom.

    DJI GO - Max Altitude.jpg
     
    #8 msinger, Nov 19, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2015
  9. ShoRotten

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    9
    I see. I thought it wasnt adjustable.

    Sorry for repearig but, the wifi booster wont give me better results in the same park, as i understand.?
     
  10. Harrissment

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    6
    I think you will find that 120m is the max altitude of the standard even if you change it in the app it will only go 120m You can only change it in the app because of the advance and pro model.
     
  11. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,117
    Likes Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    US
    The Pro/Advanced specs also show the same software limitation. They aren't limited to 120m either though.
     
  12. Harrissment

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    6
    Oh ok, that's good to know I have a standard going under the tree for me this year but I read the dji site that it would max go up 120m, thank you for clearing this up for me.
     
  13. Harrissment

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    6
    I have just had another look and while both do say software limit 120m, only he standard does also say max 120m on the other specs of the phantom, so that is still making me think this 120m is set on the standard aswell.
     
  14. Timritchieblue

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2015
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    28
    I've flown over 120m with mine, been up about 475ft so far.
     
  15. Harrissment

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    6
    Are you in the uk Tim?
     
  16. Timritchieblue

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2015
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    28
    No, Ima Texas. I have since installed the DBS mod, but haven't tested yet
     
  17. Kneepuck

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    21
    I am in California and I had my P3S up to 850 feet just today.
     
  18. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,689
    Likes Received:
    5,715
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi