Does the Phantom 3 know when you've gone too far?

Reaction score
I'm still new to the Phantom 3 and I'm already considering an upgrade to the Phantom 3 Advanced from the Standard to get the extra range. Whether it is the Advanced or the Standard I'm curious about the logic built in to these drones.

I've seen many of the distance tests, but most seem to go for it on a full charge, which certainly makes sense. However, I'm wondering whether there is some logic built in to the drones to force a return when needed. Say for example, I'm using a P3A and I've got 80% battery left when I start moving directly away from the home point. At 50% battery none of my warnings will be triggered, but to make the flight home it should probably turn back if there was no wind because it took 30% of the battery to get there and using another 30% to get home only leaves me with 20% by the time it lands.

Is this kind of logic built in to the Phantom 3 or is it something you have to keep track of manually?

just like the standard you can set battery warning for when it gets low advance same as standard but better distance with Lightbridge also better rc

If you look up at the top of your screen on your device while flying you should notice a red yellow and green line. I believe this line will indicate how much battery is required to return to home as the distance changes. Its calculations will change based on your settings. (Someone correct me if I'm wrong)

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app

no if your out 5000 feet and wait till battery hits low battery if you have it set at 30 well you might not make it back when flying watch how long it took you to get that far and add some to come home to be safe