Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Does the P2 power the GoPro?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by HarryT, Aug 5, 2014.

  1. HarryT

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Warrington, UK
    My setup: P2, Zenmuse H3-3D, GoPro Hero 3+ Black.

    Does the P2 actually supply power to the GoPro through the USB port, or is it just taking a video feed from it? Ie, do I need to worry about charging the GoPro's battery?

    Thanks!
     
  2. hrosee

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2014
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, it runs the camera and also charges the battery.
     
  3. EdmontonPhotog

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta Canada
    It's probably best to start with a fully charged battery in the GoPro so you aren't using the P2's battery to recharge more than it has to.
     
  4. tferrari

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    1
    +1
     
  5. HarryT

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Warrington, UK
    Thanks - I appreciate the advice.
     
  6. ElGuano

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    4
    It should also run cooler if you do this. Charging the battery can make the GoPro and Zenmuse plate quite warm.
     
  7. henrycruz

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    1
    Wish there was an option to turn that off. I think they should of thought that out.
     
  8. HarryT

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Warrington, UK
    I should add that I do always fully charge the GoPro's battery before I go out flying. Just wondering if I needed to worry about carrying spare batteries for it if I'm out for the day. By the sound of it, the answer is "no".
     
  9. tferrari

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    1
    I would say no you don't need to bring spare GoPro batteries, but it just means that your P2 will have less flying time as it will be charging the GoPro essentially from the moment the P2 and GoPro are turned on since the GoPro is discharging and the P2 will continue to charge it while it is plugged in.
     
  10. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    True, but the difference is marginal at best. Fly a few times with it charging and then a few without and you'll see what I mean...you'll probably experience more variation in your flight times due to day to day (or even hour to hour) changes in atmospheric conditions than from the juice the gopro steals, even if the camera's battery is very low.
     
  11. HarryT

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Warrington, UK
    Thanks, OI. I thought that would be the case - the power used by the GoPro must be negligible compared to that used by the motors - but it's good to have it confirmed.
     
  12. tferrari

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    1
    +1
     
  13. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Glad to help! And that's absolutely correct...even all the electronics on a Phantom combined will only draw a fraction of the current he motors suck down when flying.
     
  14. henrycruz

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    1
  15. Bluegrass

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    I fully agree. I've been wondering if a battery needed to even be in the GoPro. Less weight for the Phantom to lift.
     
  16. HarryT

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Warrington, UK
    You don't want to change the weight of the GoPro in any way - it'll throw off the balance of the gimbal.