Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Does Phantom 3 have an auxiliary power cable somewhere inside?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by VoicOfReason, May 6, 2015.

  1. VoicOfReason

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    129
    I really hate the idea of opening up my new Phantom 3, but I'd like to know if there is an auxiliary power cable anywhere inside. I want to attach a feather-light bright LED light (like I did with my Phantom 2) but I don't want a big, heavy extra battery hanging off of it.

    Anyone know?
     
  2. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,236
    Likes Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    No.
    You'll need to 'tap' and regulate from internal power if you need it.

    This quad is not dintended for the hobbyist who wants to tinker and mod.
     
  3. VoicOfReason

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    129
    By "tap and regulate" what do you mean specifically, because that's exactly what I'm asking about. I want to tap from the internal power via a cable.
     
  4. stinkeye

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    12
    I can't help with an answer, but please share some pics of the process if you make this mod!
     
  5. VoicOfReason

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    129
    As long as I can do it safely... my initial thoughts are that it may be better to have a thin plate that slides between battery prongs with a wire going to the LED light. LED light is only $4 and is super bright and amazing to see at night, plus very helpful for orientation and safety. There's no way I'm making my own plate, but I've seen such a thing somewhere a few months ago. Not sure if the LED can handle 15 volts but probably. If not, it's just $4.
     
  6. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,236
    Likes Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    You asked: 'if there is an auxiliary power cable anywhere inside', leading me to believe you meant something already there waiting for you.

    You can tap where the battery is connected to the central PCB then regulate down to the voltage you need.
     
  7. VoicOfReason

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    129
    Ah. I get it. Yeah, I was just thinking about that, too. Here's what I found...
     

    Attached Files:

  8. VoicOfReason

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    129
  9. VoicOfReason

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    129
    I just ordered the whole set on Amazon: adapter $7 (came with extra wires, but PRIME anyway) and 2 LED's for $3.79 each = $14.58 total. I'll try it out on my Phantom 2 first and then Phantom 3. They will arrive Friday.

    My only concern is whether it makes the battery connection less solid. I don't want that. But, people have used these for Phantom 2 and the power input plug is identical (except additional monitor leads that aren't relevant).
     
  10. Buk

    Buk

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Iowa, United States
    I've have headlight LED on my P1 and P2, I'll miss it on the P3. I won't mess with opening the body to get power of the P3.
     
  11. F6Rider

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    346
    Location:
    Foothills Of The Sierra's, California
    I used this on my P2V for months with a landing light, worked great, made an awesome night light and helped with orientation in the daytime also. Didn't seem to affect flight time at all, and never had battery issues, just make 'extra' sure the battery is 'locked' in place.
     
  12. VoicOfReason

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    129
    Thanks!


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  13. delirious

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    143
    You could tap into the front Red LED light wire. Those can be turned off in the app
     
  14. VoicOfReason

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    129
    Very interesting idea.
     
  15. VoicOfReason

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    129
    Where do you run the wires out of the Phantom? Did you have to open up the Phantom to run the wires OUT?
     
  16. F6Rider

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    346
    Location:
    Foothills Of The Sierra's, California
    No, don't have to open it, I ran them out one of the vent slots on the front side of the airframe, be sure to clean the power lug adapter well in case there is some manufacturing oil on it.
     
  17. VoicOfReason

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    129
    So, just to clarify, the adapter slides between the battery pins and doesn't change how well the battery seats? Is it super-thin?
     
  18. F6Rider

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    346
    Location:
    Foothills Of The Sierra's, California
    Yes, it is VERY thin, the led's take so little power it needs not be thick, also, the springs on the battery data pins have enough travel that it changes nothing. I always make double sure the battery is locked in event time in any case.
     
  19. VoicOfReason

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    129
    So cool. Is the adapter robust enough to power a separate 600mw Tx if I wanted to put one on the Phantom 3? I know, I know, why do that? But, just wondering.