Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Does distance depend on remote?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by t2adze, Oct 3, 2016.

  1. t2adze

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    39
    Hello

    My friend told me he can give me the RC for the P3 that he crashed. My remote for P3A is working fine and i have no need to take it, unless it will give a better range.
    Does it depend on RC that much or its more about the antenna in the drone?
    Basically the question is, can different remote give the better results in range?

    Thanks

    Sent from my SM-G900FD using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. Darwish

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    15
    Well, there is no diffrence between the rc's? They are both the same. So not really any diffrence.
     
  3. Cobs

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2016
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    116
    Location:
    Cumbria, UK
    If your wanting longer range its worth looking into antenna upgrades, it cant harm mind to have a spare transmitter too if its free.
     
  4. Psy

    Psy

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    3
    Which p3 does your friend have? P3 adv and p3 pro are both lightbridge but standard I believe is differant


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  5. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,524
    Likes Received:
    1,477
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    The 300A and 300B RCs both have the same power output for the control signal. It's only the 300C version of the RC that has reduced power. If you don't do any very long range flights, you probably wouldn't notice a difference with any of the versions in that regard.

    The 300A RC has the DaVinci processor and USB 2.0. B and C don't have the internal video processor, but have USB 3.0.

    The video transmitter (for FPV) is in the bird, and the power for that has been reduced with each new version of the Phantom. First reduced by 18% in relation to the original and then later by 30% in relation to the original.

    Here is more info from @GadgetGuy
    Old Motors vs. New Ones
     
    JoBe, Mark The Droner and WetDog like this.
  6. t2adze

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    39
    Mine is 300c. And friends is 300b.
    So i can be getting more range with my friends rc?
    His is also for p3a

    Sent from my SM-G900FD using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  7. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,599
    Likes Received:
    740
    Location:
    Australia
    Yes.

    And if he is giving it to you why wouldn't you take it off him. Would be nice to have a spare. Yo could even mod one with a nice boosted setup.
     
    Oso likes this.
  8. rstekeur

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Ft Myers, Florida
    I got a used p3p and it came with 2 remotes, that's what I'm going to do is mod one of them