Does anyone know about taking the BNUC-S exam for commercial

Reaction score
Hi all,

Please forgive me if I start posting complete noob questions, It will because I am.
Over the weekend I took delivery of a Phantom. Now I must point out I have never used anything like this.
I am hooked and obsessed already, what have I let myself into. :D

I am a photographer based in UK, and so the idea came about arial photography when I stumbled accross the DJI Phantom.
I took the plunge following everyones reviews on how easy it is to fly and because it is pretty much all out the box with no building involved. My kind of Kit :)

However, for me to use this with a camera onboard for commercial work I need to be registered with the CAA before which I need to take the BNUC-S exam. All of which I am prepaired to undertake.

The questions I have is based upon the BNUC-S exam.
A requirement is that you must not fly over 400M and 500M away and you must remain in line of sight.
How can I demonstrate that I would not fly above 400M ? I do not have any information at hand that tells me how high the Phantom is. So straight away I am thinking do I need another controller that would display this information to me? or is none of this required?

Thanks for any advice that you can give.

Re: Does anyone know about taking the BNUC-S exam for commer

ukmdb said:
Hi all,

Please forgive me if I start posting complete noob questions, It will because I am.
Over the weekend I took delivery of a Phantom. Now I must point out I have never used anything like this.
I am hooked and obsessed already, what have I let myself into. :D

I am a photographer based in UK, and so the idea came about arial photography when I stumbled accross the DJI Phantom.
I took the plunge following everyones reviews on how easy it is to fly and because it is pretty much all out the box with no building involved. My kind of Kit :)