Documenting a Luxury Home Build

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm completely new to all of this, so please forgive my ignorance on the subject, and thank you in advance to anyone who takes the time to reply to this topic.

I am currently project managing a build of a luxury home in Shropshire, UK. It's not the largest of projects at 350sqm gross internal area, but it will have some rather neat features, such as a hydrotherapy suite with pool and jacuzzi, large pond, orchard and some other rather fancy additions.

Currently, outline planning permission has been granted, and we are at the stage of applying for full planning with detailed elevations and all the surveys necessary to appease the local council. At present, the plot of land (which is roughly an acre in size) is a completely blank canvas. It's literally the corner of a farmers field, and doesn't even have a fence around it yet to denote the site.

I have been toying with the idea of documenting this build using a drone, to create a time-lapse video showing the house being built from an empty field, to it's completion.

My amateur (at best) knowledge on drones leads me to believe that i can set a GPS coordinate so that aerial pictures are taken from the exact same spot on a daily basis. Is this correct?

My second question is; is it possible to take a picture each day, over 360 days, from a different angle each day, rotating around the build in a circle from a set centre point, 360 degrees, so that the final edited video would show a 3D time-lapse moving around the build, showing the house going up from start to finish.

Is this simply too precise for GPS to handle, and if so, with a grasp of what i am trying to achieve, can anyone recommend a method to gain roughly the same end result?