Do you have to pay the $150 every two years for the part 107?

Reaction score
I've been searching, but cannot find out if you have to pay the $150 every two years, or just once for the initial test. Anyone know?

Your Part 107 Remote Pilot certification is good forever. No additional charge.

Reactions: kptw_pilot
But you do have to re-test every two years, is there a charge for that?

Are you referring to 107.65(b)? AFIAK, the FAA has not yet defined this. Most likely it will be a no cost WINGS course, not having to re-take a paid test. If someone has other information, please enlighten us vs. just a Yes answer.

Just like any pilot, your certificate is good forever, but you might need a biennial flight review or as it says "Passed a recurrent aeronautical knowledge test covering the areas of knowledge specified in §107.73(b); " It does not say take the same test again. It says "recurrent". As a private pilot I take many recurrent tests via the FAA WINGS program to meet most of the 24 months recurrent training to be able to fly, but my certificate is forever.

Last edited:
They (FAA) has almost 2 years to get it figured out. Hope that's enough time!

As Richard and Dave indicated, yes, after two years you will have to recertify. Whether or not that will require another $150 visit to the testing center remains to be seen. My SWAG is that the FAA might institute an online refresher/recertification option. But that's just a guess and time will ultimately tell.

Reactions: FLYBOYJ and BigAl07
As Richard and Dave indicated, yes, after two years you will have to recertify. Whether or not that will require another $150 visit to the testing center remains to be seen. My SWAG is that the FAA might institute an online refresher/recertification option. But that's just a guess and time will ultimately tell.

I'll put my $$ on Russ's response above. I'd say that's the most likely option at this point in time.