Do you fly out of sight?

Reaction score
I am new to flying but I am not sure if I would ever want to fly beyond my ability to see the drone. Not only the distance factor, but aslo behind trees, houses, whatever, where I am only using video to fly.

I was wondering if more experienced flyers have no issue with that?

Many people do it. The FAA urges against it. If there are any people anywhere near the flight path, do you think that's safe?
If you have a video link failure you could lose your Phantom. I think the general consensus is to fly it within your line of sight.
ANY time you let any object get between you and the Phantom you risk signal loss. I suggest you stay in line of sight until you are VERY good at controlling it and understand every feature and function and how it works.

Good luck

I have many times, It is now against FAA. reg to do so. So most on here wont admit to doing this.
We have a lot of pilots here that only fly in there back yard, and are always there to point out if you are being DANGERAS.
When you get more confidence you may try it.

To add to this complication, even if you are in line of sight, unless you are neurotic about looking up at the Phantom and back to your display every 2 to 3 seconds, you've often lost visual of the white dot in the sky especially on overcast days so it's an art form to say the least. I would recommend that you always keep a reference point of your orientation with the map in the lower left corner of the screen to allow a visual space orientation reference point.

Reactions: Shawnakova
Alot of people do wether they deny it.
My advice if you do is dont put yourself in a position where someone will report you righr away. Go to an open field, not over houses or freway etc.
Second and most important of your new flying, learn to fly first. Just because you can do some funnels means you can control it.