Do I take the plunge?

Reaction score
I have been flying everything helicopter related for the past 5 years or so, micros up to 700 class and have just recently sold my 700 as I don't have the time to keep up with the maintenance and 3D flying is just not appealing to me anymore. Also I don't have a great space to fly such a large violent machine without traveling.

So now I am looking at getting into the phantom series for some casual flying and photography. I have a few questions and concerns before I make a move and hopefully you guys and point me in the right direction.

First of all I have an amazing recreation area suitable for flying inside my neighborhood my only concern is there is a airport about 6.5 miles away. I realize we are asked to stay outside the 5 mile radius of the airport but where does this radius begin? Do I just stay about 5 miles away from the physical address or do I need to be 5 miles away from the furthest point from the airport property which is obviously a huge swath of land?

Next concern I have is between the phantom 3 advanced and the professional model. From what I have seen the only difference between the two models is the camera quality. Lastly I do not own a iPad or have any interest in buying one other than for the purpose of flying this quad, is the iPad a must or will using my iPhone 6+ be sufficient? I haven't seen many people using phones as the display.

Thanks for the help

between the phantom 3 advanced and the professional model. From what I have seen the only difference between the two models is the camera quality.
That's the biggest difference. If you do not need to shoot 4K video, then get the Phantom 3 Advanced.

will using my iPhone 6+ be sufficient