Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Do I need to Re-calibrate or make adjustments (adding GPS)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by cpditty, Mar 16, 2015.

  1. cpditty

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, I am new to this forum and I have been flying the Phantom 2 vision plus for a little over 9 months. I recently purchased a Drone Mods UAV Locator due to an unexplained flyaway that left me pretty shaken up until I received a call from the finder of my quad. I am not sure if I mount this on my Phantom if I need to make any adjustments at all or will the phantom make its own adjustments? Best practices as far as mounting something like that on the Phantom. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thank you in advance
    Chris
     
  2. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,631
    Likes Received:
    5,696
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Re: Do I need to Re-calibrate or make adjustments (adding GP

    Welcome to the forum :D
    Just adding a locater all you need to do is a full compass calibration outside . Anytime you add or move anything to your Phantom do one.
    The locater is one of the best add-ons you could have got ! IMO
     
  3. PhantomFanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,143
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    USA, GA
    Re: Do I need to Re-calibrate or make adjustments (adding GP

    Also, Welcome to the Forum!! :) I use a different GPS locator, but not having tried all of them, I don't know for certain, which is really the best. But, I like mine!
     
  4. cpditty

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Do I need to Re-calibrate or make adjustments (adding GP

    Thank you guys for your replies. So, if I am understanding you correctly I do not need to do anything different than I currently do with my start-up procedures (which includes a compass calibration)? Does that mean the Phantom will adjust for the difference in weight distribution by itself? Thank you again for your help and patience as I am still learning and trying to make as few mistakes as possible.

    I would agree that this is the best mod you can do as I had a fly away last year. Luckily a sticker with my phone number, a $50 reward saved me. I ordered the locator a couple weeks later after exhaustive research.

    Thank again
    Chris
     
  5. SteveMann

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,977
    Likes Received:
    652
    Location:
    Westford, MA
    Re: Do I need to Re-calibrate or make adjustments (adding GP

    You don't need to calibrate at every flight. Just when you change the equipment configuration or fly in a location miles from the location of your previous calibration. Or when the Phantom is telling you that the compass needs calibration. Ideally you want the aircraft to be balanced, but the main controller in the NAZA unit will keep it level. Realize though, the NAZA MC keeps the aircraft level by adding more power to the motor nearest the heavyside, which translates into lower flight time. Maybe not much, but it all adds up.