Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Do I have a warranty case?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Jonathan M Halley, Aug 27, 2015.

  1. Jonathan M Halley

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    Here we go... I recently crashed my Phantom 3 Professional due to an RC Signal issue... Here are the specs:

    I had taken off and was flying around a downtown area. I went to the other side of a tall building (which I had done previously without any issues) and suddenly got the RC Signal lost and Return Home Initiating in 7...6...ect... Screen. It also went to a black screen. Knowing there was a building between me and the drone, I hit cancel. I then noticed that the red x where the "return home" button was still showed which told me the return home had been initiated. I immediately tried it again and it would not cancel... I started walking to see if I could regain signal and noticed the GPS was not moving at all...

    Upon reviewing the flight log, when the RC loses signal it immediately and swiftly starts flying toward the "home point". I also noted that my sticks were not showing any movement.

    From my experience with losing signal, and the return home, the aircraft always pauses where it is, waits for the return home initiation, then pauses more, raises to the appropriate height, pauses, then returns home... From my flight log, the aircraft does not pause and seems to fly full speed in the direction of the home point...

    Thoughts?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Dirby

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    Dothan Al
    send it and give it a try.
     
  3. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,925
    Likes Received:
    5,573
    Location:
    US
    That is by design. It's covered in the Phantom manual. You should never allow an object to get in between the remote controller and your Phantom.


    If your Phantom was above the RTH altitude, then it should have started returning home immediately. You might have a case here if you can show what your RTH altitude was set to at the time and what the actual altitude was when it started returning home. I'm pretty certain that information can be found in the internal Phantom log.
     
  4. Jonathan M Halley

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    So looks like I was at 27M when I lost signal and I didn't have a max set if that's what you are referring to...
     
  5. rrmccabe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Ankeny, Iowa
    Sounds normal to me as well. Cancel will not work if the bird is behind something and cant get the cancel command. Its on its own and all it can do is fly home.

    Always make sure RTH is high enough to clear anything between you and the bird.
     
  6. Jonathan M Halley

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    So if I didn't have an RTH set, it should go to 20M above the take off point right? It went to 30M though...
     
  7. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,925
    Likes Received:
    5,573
    Location:
    US
    I was referring to the RTH altitude -- which is the altitude your Phantom will ascend to before returning home.
     
  8. Jonathan M Halley

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    Where do I find this setting?
     
  9. rrmccabe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Ankeny, Iowa
    Whatever the default is. I always have mine at about 70 meters. I don't even remember default.

    Keep in mind if you are higher than default it wont lower. It flies home at the higher elevation.

    How tall was building?

    Is bird a total loss?
     
  10. Phantom751874

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2015
    Messages:
    995
    Likes Received:
    269
    In my experience if I recall correctly the first thing it does is turn to point to home. Then it goes up to the RTH altitude that is set if it's not already above that altitude. Then it makes a bee line home.
     
  11. Phantom751874

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2015
    Messages:
    995
    Likes Received:
    269
    Default is 30 meters.
     
    Oso likes this.
  12. rrmccabe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Ankeny, Iowa
    Advanced and then failsafe. But you need to be connected to see the setting.
     
  13. Jonathan M Halley

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    Building was probably 300ft and yeah pretty much total loss.... Camera and gimbal are attached by 1 of the shock absorbers but all the wires are disconnected...
     
  14. rrmccabe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Ankeny, Iowa
    You mean the gimbal did not separate? If it didn't that is amazing.

    This is a common mistake. Sorry for your loss but you should always fly like you could lose connectivity. RTH height is important thing to set.
     
  15. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,925
    Likes Received:
    5,573
    Location:
    US
  16. Jonathan M Halley

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    This shows exactly what your screen is showing.
     
  17. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,530
    Likes Received:
    1,478
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    I tend to agree with the other posts. It seems to have worked as designed. With no signal lock, it could not hear your cancel command. With no RTH altitude set, it could only do what it thought was correct and probably stayed around the 27-30M attitude and flew into the first obstacle in its way.
     
  18. Jonathan M Halley

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    Nope it just pulled the pins, smashed the camera glass and dented it. Its dangling by 1 connector
     
  19. Jonathan M Halley

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    Can I remove the camera and it still connect and fly? Solution: simply replace the camera?
     
  20. cdronefly

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    68
    I don't think you have a warranty case! It's impossible for any company (other than SquareTrade currently through B&H) to warrant against crashing.

    Of course that does not mean you shouldn't try! You may get the 30% off a new one offer - and then you can sell some parts of your old one if they let you keep it.

    Of course there is a whole 'nother conversation about where you were flying, danger to the public below, etc. - the only part which is valid here is that only very conservative flying is likely to keep the bird in your hands for the long run.
     
    Flyaware, reboot81 and ianwood like this.