Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Do batteries need update for new FW?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by oldmanders13, Sep 7, 2015.

  1. oldmanders13

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    10
    Tried updating batteries...didn't make any noises or take any time at all, do we know if the batteries need an update as well?
     
  2. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    The camera light flashed a few times and it was done in about 5 seconds if that.
     
  3. oldmanders13

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    10
    Thats what happened for me, just wanted to make sure everyone else was getting the same thing...usually takes a bit longer.
     
  4. hidaven

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    99
    Nothing here either. My batteries are functioning fine so I'm assuming the update was not required as both of my batteries work without any updates.
     
  5. JohnK

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    Hudson Valley, New York
    You can just leave the .bin file in until you fly with each battery, just in case. I make no assumptions about these things!!! :)
     
  6. zamri

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    No need update for the batteries..
     
  7. JohnK

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    Hudson Valley, New York
    What is the source of that info? I'll just leave the .bin file in place while I cycle through my batteries. No harm is done, and any automatic things that need to take place will do so.
     
  8. FLOATFLYER

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Canada
    Could someone please answer this battery question, sorry I'm a bit confused.
    I have a P3 PRO with firmware 1.4.001 installed about 1.5 months ago after purchasing.
    I just bought a spare battery yesterday, I plugged it in and fired everything up and there was no message on app saying to update battery.
    Am I ok ? or do I need to Insert micro sd with bin file and run with new battery ...if so do I have to go back to rev before 1.4 since there is no battery upgrade on 1.4 ?
    thanks in advance for your assistance :)
     
  9. Dome

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    Italy
    Battery is not affected by this update. It is v 1.7.0.0 and no update in v1.5.0030 firmware.

    Code:
    [00013116]Version checking[1]...
    [00013196][03 05][00] v34.2.0.9 -> v34.2.0.9
    [00013275][03 06][00] v2.3.0.13 -> v2.4.0.5 need upgrade.
    [00013314][04 00][00] v1.41.0.0 -> v1.41.0.0
    [00013535][11 00][00] v1.7.0.0 -> v1.7.0.0        <------- battery
    [00013629][12 00][00] v1.10.0.0 -> v1.10.0.0
    [00013709][12 01][00] v1.10.0.0 -> v1.10.0.0
    [00013785][12 02][00] v1.10.0.0 -> v1.10.0.0
    [00013865][12 03][00] v1.10.0.0 -> v1.10.0.0
    [00014003][15 00][00] v1.1.2.0 -> v1.1.2.0
    [00014099][17 00][00] v1.1.1.7 -> v1.1.1.7
    [00014219][17 01][00] v1.0.2.7 -> v1.0.2.7
    [00014275][19 00][00] v1.0.8.96 -> v1.0.8.96
    [00014310][01 00][00] v1.23.3419 -> v1.26.4315 need upgrade
    [00014344][01 01][00] v1.23.3419 -> v1.26.4315 need upgrade
    [00014393][08 00][00] v0.12.0.4 -> v0.13.0.7 need upgrade.
    [00014455][09 00][00] v1.7.0.3 -> v2.13.0.0 need upgrade.
    [00014491]Done.
    
    
     
  10. FLOATFLYER

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks for your reply
    I am still on 1.4 firmware.
    If I download the version 1.4 bin file on sd card and insert my new battery, will version 1.4 update my new battery ?
    Thanks for your help
     
  11. Dome

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    Italy
    If I remind correctly the battery was updated with v1.3.20, but I'm not sure
     
    bobmyers likes this.
  12. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,064
    Likes Received:
    1,627
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    We should not worry about the battery update, just leave the bin file on the root of SD card, it will take care of batteries automatically.
     
  13. dwcola

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    31
    After your P3 firmware update, the batteries will update themselves when inserted into the P3 so the batteries do need updates but it happens automatically so you do not need to physically update the battery.
     
  14. FLOATFLYER

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks so much for your replies.

    I understand now, I was not sure how old this new battery was that I just purchased yesterday.

    had the 1.4 fw bin file on sd card, inserted battery and checked the txt file after and said success. should be good to go.

    As always thanks guys for your assistance , much appreciated.