Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

DJI Waypoint problems

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Bull94, Apr 24, 2016.

  1. Bull94

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    9
    Has anyone had any problems with the DJI apps waypoint mode? I'll set the path and record it all and when I press start to test if it follows the path correctly it will sometimes drop to like 3 inches off of the ground or go higher than the recorded altitude which is a problem.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. MedinaTaylor

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    115
    Are you starting from the same location (altitude) for both flights?
     
  3. Bull94

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    9
    Yes I am


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  4. bobby0

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Mine is droping to but I stop before it hits the ground poi works fine


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  5. Bull94

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    9
    It seems like if I turn everything off and on again a few times it'll work but it is very disappointing. All of these updates and they still haven't fixed the RTH landing rough and now this.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  6. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,581
    Likes Received:
    737
    Location:
    Australia
    What altitude are the points set at? Altitude accuracy can vary a lot, particularly after things warm up in flight. This could be normal.
     
  7. Bull94

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    9
    Altitude starts at about 10-20 ft and max of about 50-70 but mostly between 10 and 30 ft.
     
  8. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,581
    Likes Received:
    737
    Location:
    Australia
    Ok.... there is your problem. Those 10ft waypoints could easily try and fly you below ground level
     
  9. bobby0

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Still here waiting for dji to get back to me
     
    Bull94 likes this.
  10. Bull94

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    9
    That's the problem? Shouldn't it know where the ground is?


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  11. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,581
    Likes Received:
    737
    Location:
    Australia
    It is limited by the accuracy of the barometer. Sub 10ft the ultrasonic sensors may be able to measure more accurately if close to the ground, i dont know. I have never had the VPS turned on. I do know a 10ft discrepency in the barometer is quite often encountered. Turning everything iff and on may make things more accurate as you are effectively recallibrating. I see the biggest variations during the first battery flown. Once things warm up it is much less of an issue. The recorded altitude is always higher than actual when its off.
     
  12. Bull94

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    9
    That makes sense. I wonder if it's a good idea to turn on the VPS. I have a bad feeling about it flying over my roof for example and the VPS freaking out and causing it to crash.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  13. bobby0

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi bull reinstall the app last night and reformatted the s d card flew this morning everything worked fine waypoint worked good can't be leave it


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  14. Bull94

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thank you for the update bobby. I don't know if the app is my problem as I am using a brand new ipad air 2 cellular that artived saturday which I installed the app on. The problem has happened well before I ever got the new ipad however I will try reformatting the card. I have had issues with the card being delayed when pressing record and stopping on it's own mid video when there is still plenty of room (it's a 64GB card). Glad it seems to have worked out for you.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  15. bobby0

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi just make sure the app is 2.8.0


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  16. Bull94

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thank you for informing me about the app I didn't realize it had an update today. I tested out and had the same issues but I forgot to reformat the sd card I will let you know when I try again.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  17. bobby0

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi bull dji wanted me to take out s d card and put it back in and do reset in photo menu did that but didn't see anything change


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  18. Bull94

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thanks for the update bobby. I'll try it, I keep forgetting to test the waypoint the last few times lol.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app