Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

DJI Vision APP question

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by duckdogs007, Jan 23, 2014.

  1. duckdogs007

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    7
    On the Vision App...there is a location map that will display where your photos were taken...anyone know how to correct that location to reflect my correct location (instead of showing me in China!)....
    ??


    thanks!
    J
     
  2. Bravox

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem , but what i noticed is that only the pictures shows the China location but the videos have the correct location .
     
  3. MikeON

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Mine shows the correct location (USA) without me having done anything special to it except fly it. Have you started it up and gotten at least 6 satellites to achieve Home Lock yet?
     
  4. duckdogs007

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    7

    yes - flew yesterday with GPS & & 8 satellites. Still shows location in China.
     
  5. Studiowise

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol U.K
    Make sure you have GPS enabled on your smart device and then view the map. It cares not about GPS & sat lock on the phantom as it's using your devices' inbuilt GPS.
     
  6. Studiowise

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol U.K
    Handy hint for anyone getting an Apple tablet, if you get the wi-FI only one, it doesn't have an active GPS. If you get the WI-FI & cell one, it has an active GPS even if you don't activate the sim card aspect of the device
     
  7. duckdogs007

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    7

    I think that fixed it....enabling the gps on the phone....but the language is still in Chinese, any ideas on that??

    :ugeek:
     
  8. duckdogs007

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hey guys.....a follow-up DJI App question....

    Is it necessary to have security settings for the Wi-Fi link b/w my phone and the Vision camera link?

    can more than one device link to the Phantom Wi-I at the Same Time?? This could be good for others to view what it sees on a Tablet. etc.


    Thanks!
    Happy Flying!
    :geek:
     
  9. phantomguy

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    2
    There is no option to secure the link.

    As an aside, I recall news articles years ago saying how the Taliban were able to monitor the Predator drone footage due to the US disabling the encryption on that footage transmitted from the drone to the controllers who viewed the footage. Why? The story mentioned that the encryption negatively impacted (greatly slowed down) the real time viewing of the footage. time it took to encrypt/decrypt was too long....
     
  10. RCRookie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    East Texas
    Only 1 device can connect to the Vision RE at a time.
    The only way to work around this currently is Goggles with HD imputs (cables) or a external monitor, that works with your specific device. Allowing another viewer to see the FPV.