Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

DJI pilot ap talking?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by DJJI, Jul 12, 2015.

  1. DJJI

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    16
    Hi I`m curious about the pilot app.
    I`ve seen some videos where the pilot enables diffrent modes, automatic takeoff/landing, return to home etc. And when the pilot does that, there is a lady saying the commands the pilot triggered. Like "Auto takeoff".
    And in other videos i can`t hear, maybe because the have silent mode on?

    So does the pilot app talk to you or not?

    Btw I will be using android.

    It`s a weird question I know that, but thanks for helping me out. I will get mine on Wednesday som I`m preparing all I can;)
     
    #1 DJJI, Jul 12, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2015
  2. Cyclone

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    130
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    I think the ios version speaks more than the Android one. I have some speech using a Shield but not a great deal.
     
  3. UKFlyer

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2014
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Mine talks, using latest pilot app on android, Nvidia Shield on 5.1 Lollipop.
     
  4. AirborneInPDX

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2015
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon (USA)
    "The home point has been recorded. Please check it on the map."
     
  5. UKFlyer

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2014
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Mine does not say too much either, something like "please check flight status before take off" when you first start up and on lift off "Take off".
     
  6. Cyclone

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    130
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    Yeah thats all I hear. Hopefully in a future update it will include a lot more.
     
  7. DJJI

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    16
    Okay, thanks.
    Another question.
    I have flown alot of helis, aircrafts and some quadrocopters. blade mqx, 250 racer and a DJI f450 with naza v2.
    I was windering when I get the P3P I have to make a compass calibration, And ofcourse have a locked in GPS signal but when and how often do you do the IMU calibration?
    Is there anything more of checks regarding thoose things before first flight then?
     
  8. Cyclone

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    130
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    Do the IMU calibration when you first get it. Do it as soon as you turn the quad on, and do it on something level. Some say the colder the machine the better it will be. This needs to be done after a firmware upgrade. A compass calibration will also be required before the first flight. Do it away from anything metal, ie in a field if possible. And you shouldnt need to do this again until you fly in another location many miles away from the first.

    People say read the manual and read it again. Also have a read through this site and a lot of info will be found. Ive learnt a lot from people on here.
     
  9. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,689
    Likes Received:
    3,420
    Probably the majority of users never have any need to recalibrate the IMU.
    Simply calibrate the compass out of the box and you're good to go.
     
    snowghost likes this.
  10. DJJI

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    16
    Nice thx;) Same as the naza v2 I`m used to then;)
     
  11. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,782
    Likes Received:
    5,528
    Location:
    US
    It's a good idea to calibrate the IMU when:

    1) You first buy your Phantom.
    2) After you install new firmware.
    3) If you crash your Phantom or it gets banged around in the case.

    #2 was suggested by DJI employees on the DJI forum.
     
  12. snerd

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2,633
    Likes Received:
    1,585
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    My iOS 1.2 app talks a LOT! I have to shut her up at times. But sometimes, she talks really sexy, and strokes my ego, so I'm not too hard on her. :cool:
     
    Cyclone, taroh and Fplvert like this.
  13. Fplvert

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    708
    Location:
    Southern Idaho USA
    Mine's mute. Never said a word.

    I'm glad as I dread Chinenglish like the manual. I do like music when I fly, but no chatting thank you.
     
  14. DJJI

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    16
    Thanks for the reply people. When I get it I will calibrate IMU, compass and get GPS lock before takeofff.
    And I will not upgrade firmware to 1.2.6 if I have the option. Heard many people complain about it.

    And how many % battery to land with? 15?
     
    #14 DJJI, Jul 12, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2015
  15. taroh

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Yokohama, Japan/Taichung, Taiwan
    I'm using Android app (1.2.6) but speaks well.
    It may depend also on language setting of Android OS. I'm using in English (US), and before I heard the app also speaks Japanese and Chinese (of course, DJI is Chinese company) when tablet language setting was that.
    If other languages, voice data may not be localized and voice disabled(?).
     
  16. Fplvert

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    708
    Location:
    Southern Idaho USA
    Lipos should be run down to about 50% for the first 10 cycles.

    Be sure and check your app settings, default will RTH at 30% and land at 15%.
     
  17. DJJI

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    16
    Okay nice. Then I will just try to change the language and see it that helps. There`s no problem having it on English, and thanks for battery information.

    Think Im ready for Wednesday then;)
     
  18. Cyclone

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    130
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    Once set up, you will enjoy it :)
     
  19. snowghost

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    SoCal, USA
    Just another perspective. I have never calibrated the IMU. My bird is rock stable. The only thing I've done is a couple compass calibrations. One out-of-the-box. And one or two others as the app required.