DJI Phantom Vision 2 (Questions)

Reaction score
Hello. I'm the proud owner of a DJI Phantom Vision 2. I purchased this because I'm a reality TV producer / director and wanted to be able to get some cool shots. So far I've gotten some pretty awesome stuff just flying high above my neighborhood but I've had to use image stabilization software in my editing system to give it the smooth look I'm after. I just purchased the vision gimbal from the Netherlands which should show up in a couple weeks. I was hoping someone could clear up a few things for me...

1. Firmware Updates - I've plugged the USB into the Phantom Vision 2, and I've done the latest firmware update in addition to calibrating my transmitter which is recommended after. Is there a firmware update that I'm required to do for the transmitter? I don't see any USB plug on the transmitter so I'm just making sure. The wifi extender has a usb plug but I haven't read anything about firmware for that.

2. DJI App for Iphone 5S running iOS7. This latest update is not allowing me to see the battery percentage left on my Phantom Vision. It's almost as if it's covered up by the iOS7 battery percentage indicator. I've quit the app, re-downloaded it and nothing!

3. If the Gimbal from Holland doesn't give me the broadcast quality smoothness I'm looking for, Can I mount the DJI H3-2D gimbal with a Go Pro 3 on the Phantom Vision 2 and just get rid of the Vision camera or do I have to by the Non Vision Phantom 2? Will I retain the wifi and tilt control?

4. Way point. Do I have to buy the blue tooth data thing that I've read about for the Phantom Vision 2 or is this going to work when they release a waypoint app. Will the Phantom Vision 2 be able to fly beyond transmitter range if waypoints are set or will it failsafe and come home?

Those are my questions! Hopefully one of you knows all the answers!

thanks!

Sean

nashvillephantom said: