Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

DJI Phantom Vision 2 Camera Specs Seem Off

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by milezone, Jan 9, 2014.

  1. milezone

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok so I have a Nikon 14mp camera which take pretty awesome photos. Assuming this Vision would be the same, or at least close as they say 14mp as well.
    But photos seem very grainy, and just not too sharp at all.

    I did some editing to one photo but still the sharpness is just not there? Is this the normal or should I be asking tech support about this?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    There seems to be quite a lot of compression noise with the jpegs out of the Vision. We're all waiting (more or less patiently) for the previously announced firmware update to allow the camera to shoot in DNG RAW so we can see what it's really capable of. Some people have reported areas of softness either on the right to left of images and have had cameras replaced under warranty due to lens issues.
     
  3. AnselA

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    896
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Declination +8° 11'
    Tape a newspaper page on a wall, take a picture "straight on" it. Even sharpness?
     
  4. jimre

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    North Bend, WA
    Are you trying to do a fake tilt-shift effect or something?
     
  5. Old Gazer

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Eastern Oklahoma
    Is this image typical of what you are getting from the Vision camera? I would contact your dealer about a replacement.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
     
  6. larsplougmann

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin
    There are two reasons you'll never see photos coming out of the FC200 camera on the Phantom that rival on a pixel-to-pixel level what a DSLR is capable of. One is sensor size, the sensor in the FC200 is small, and this results in more noise between the cells. The other is glass: Your DLSR sports lenses that are themselves many times the size of the FC200 and thus achieve a good "bending" of the light onto the sensor.

    Both of these factors are inherent in the hardware.

    There is a third reason, but hopefully that is temporary. The JPGs that the FC200 produce are heavily compressed resulting in lots of artifacts, things appearing in the image that weren't projected onto the sensor. DJI has set expectations that the FC200 will be able to record in Adobe's DNG RAW format once they release a firmware upgrade. This will give us the option of deciding our own photo workflow but the price for extra quality is going to be longer capture times and the requirement to push the DNGs through a workflow in order to get nice web or print friendly photos. I am looking forward to it, though, the current JPGs are a bit annoying.
     
  7. djscoutmaster

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    is anyone else seing this really granny/blurry noise when they zoom in on there photos? very weird. You start zooming in a bit a BAM!! here comes the noise

    first one has a red box to show where i zoomed in
    [​IMG]

    zoomed in noise
    [​IMG]
     
  8. themosttoys

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    1
    Great post, right on.
     
  9. Patb01027

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    1

    Read the above post. You are asking a lot cropping in that much on a jpg - should be better on a raw file.
     
  10. jimre

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    North Bend, WA
    That's not noise - looks like JPEG compression artifacts. Specifically, the 8x8 pixel "macro-blocks" that JPEG breaks each image up into. When we get RAW/DNG update for the P2V camera, your image-processing software (photoshop, lightroom, Picasa, iPhoto, etc) will be able to control how much compression to use when converting to JPEG. By default the P2V is using pretty aggressive JPEG compression, to get smaller file sizes. Hence these "macro-blocks".
     
  11. nhoover

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    851
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Los Gatos, California
    Milezone, if your sample is typical, you need to return the camera. That one is the worst I've seen, out of focus almost everywhere. My first one was bad on the right edge and the replacement is bad on the left, about 30% of the image. I am hoping #3 will be the one.
     
  12. AnselA

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    896
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Declination +8° 11'
    Nothing weird; it's real world JPEG packing. Or do you expect some "indefinite blowup" capabilities like in scifi stories?
     
  13. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    It would of course help to diagnose any one-sided softness issues if the OP posted something without adding a tilt-shift effect in post-production.

    Unless of course he didn't, in which case - woah! There's something seriously wrong with that lens! :)
     
  14. gunslinger

    gunslinger Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,722
    Likes Received:
    497
    Location:
    Least Coast...
    I've noticed this as well. Yours is the best explanation I've seen and makes perfect sense. Now I'll be waiting for the RAW update as well. Thanks a lot for clarifying this...

    -slinger
     
  15. milezone

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    I guess I should say I edited this photo, as I tried to create a "fake" look to the photo. When I get back to my computer I will upload the original photo, just size it of course, and you guys might be able to see better if I have a bad unit.
     
  16. LeoS

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    1
    You're not talking about the pixels, are you?
    Because, unlike CSI, you can't keep clicking on 'enhance' and expect to zoom in on that car's license plate :p

    I think for the size of the zoomed in area, and looking at the resulting pixel size, that's about what you can expect for an image of that size. I don't think JPEG compression artifacts affect that area too much, since the areas around the car is bush/shrubberies which is pretty random. The car is actually quite well defined, considering how few pixels make it up and how clear the car shape is retained.

    Ps: I don't think what's being complained about is the result of macroblock artifacts. There's just not enough pixel to represent the detail of that bush (edges of leaves, etc). You're just overestimating how far down you can zoom in on that picture. Those are pixels.
     
  17. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    Pffft! :lol:
     
  18. milezone

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok so today I take the phantom out for some photos and can connect to phantom wifi (after waiting seems like 5 minutes), but the dji app keeps telling me failed to connect to phantom vision. So I cannot even get it to work now. I think the light on back of camera should also be on, correct? If so that is not on either. So I even tried to put camera on the "not wifi" connection and it would not record anything.

    So now I am thinking this camera is etiher dead or the wifi connection from quad to controller is bad? Any ideas?