Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Dji phantom pro long range more than 6.5Km in Tiwan !!!!

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by 714Aberdeen, May 22, 2015.

  1. 714Aberdeen

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi all

    very impressive video and very long range with phantom 3 pro !!!!

    Is this true ??im really surprise!!


    See the video below





    image.jpg
     
    #1 714Aberdeen, May 22, 2015
    Last edited: May 23, 2015
  2. loganboyd

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    at 52% battery left, he better hope he's flying downwind on the return leg!
     
  3. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,669
    Likes Received:
    5,710
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    4 miles ! Is this right ? :eek:
     
  4. Bibos

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    There's another Video on YouTube (turkish guy in Austria) flying the same distance....6000 meters and he explains thins with the wind. I can hardly believe it but at least what both have in common: flat ground with no major obstacles around the place the Controller is operated and along the route.
     
  5. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,745
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Why would it be fake? These distances are confirmed all over the place. Lightbridge is based on LTE, so totally believable.
     
  6. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,669
    Likes Received:
    5,710
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Didn't say it was fake just surprise's me that's all !
    Is funny as I've been adding antennas to hit 2 miles with what I got and see this !!
    Me thinks I see what me gonna have to do !! ;)
     
  7. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,929
    Likes Received:
    1,800
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    Where did you hear it uses LTE? Lightbridge uses MIMO OFDM but it's not LTE.
     
    dirkclod and IflyinWY like this.
  8. locoworks

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    10
    I think in the sticks with favourable topography with few structures and little metal work also not much RF in the air longer distances are possible, but try to get too far in a built up area full of steel and stone with various RF coming from every where and you won't get as far.
     
  9. delirious

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    143
    I got 3.12 miles before weak signal and 72% battery. I could of taken it small bit more. I had two yellow bars. Brought it back with 2:15 left on battery. So, I believe this given the landscape.

    Also, if you guys want to test range, follow a highway where if you can't bring it back, at least you can land it along the way and go get it. I planned for that. You can see where you land it. The return will have video long before it runs out of juice and has to land
     
    #9 delirious, May 23, 2015
    Last edited: May 23, 2015
  10. delirious

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    143
    That's not what he said. he said based upon LTE. LTE uses two spatial steams. So "based upon" is correct. Most people understand the word LTE.
    https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/MIMO-OFDM
     
    #10 delirious, May 23, 2015
    Last edited: May 23, 2015
    bbfpv likes this.
  11. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,745
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
  12. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,929
    Likes Received:
    1,800
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    Mmmmkay.... Let me revise my previous statement: Lightbridge's wireless transmission system is not based upon LTE.
     
  13. delirious

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    143
    #13 delirious, May 23, 2015
    Last edited: May 23, 2015
  14. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,929
    Likes Received:
    1,800
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    You're welcome. Don't believe everything you hear. The LB wireless interface is based upon LTE as much as a your Phantom is based upon a Boeing 777.
     
  15. delirious

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    143
    I see we aren't going to get much out of ian other than a pompous attitude.

    Some lite reading. http://www.ijarcce.com/upload/2013/july/41-h-Pravin Patil-role of contributing factors mimo-ofdm.pdf

    "
    Long Term Evolution (LTE) uses Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) along with MIMO (Multiple Input Multiple Output) antenna technology standard to achieve high radio spectral efficiency and multi-carrier approach for multiple accesses.
    "
    While light bridge may not use LTE, that's not what he said. He said it was based upon. Which I've already defined.
     
    #15 delirious, May 23, 2015
    Last edited: May 23, 2015
    Fjallis likes this.
  16. gppms

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Greece.
    i fly with mine 6.2 Km.