Dji Phantom or Dji F550?

Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

I'm new to the forum and very exited about getting my new toy. I consider to spend under $1,000 for a decent setup. My two choices unless someone suggested otherwise are the Phantom and the F550 w/ naza-m v2 (not sure what receiver/transmitter). I have never used a drone before but I'm fairly comfortable with soldering or any DYI kits. Any help is appreciated.

Thanks. :D

Well it depends pretty much on how do plan you to use it. The F550 will carry much heavier gear, for example if you already have a DSLR, then the F550 may be a wiser choice. However, if this is your very first quad then the Phantom will get you up in the air a lot faster and there will be plenty of accessories to be added on later. Building the F550 for the first time may be a little too much in term of setting up and understanding the flying details. Phantom is ready to fly in a sense but building the F550 will take some skill. In fact, many bought a palm sized RTF quad just to learn how to fly before getting into the this which is not a bad idea. Many things can go wrong for the first time F550 builder, especially if you are not familiar with programming the transmitter. If you fly rc helicopter or airplane before, the transition will be a lot easier. BTW, the $1000 budget may not be enough for the full geared F550 with respectable quality.

Look like you're set to go for aerial photography.
How about FPV?
You should get a prop balancer too.
The ND filter for the GoPro?