Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

DJI Phantom 2 with AVL58

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by renteriafilms, Feb 24, 2014.

  1. renteriafilms

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys, I just upgraded to the Phantom 2. I've decided that I also want to go fpv with it. I want a simple, moderately priced fpv system. I've been doing some research and decided that I want to purchase the AVL58.

    http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/9 ... o_kit.html

    In the product description, it says that the tx powers directly from the Phantom. My question is, does it connect directly somewhere in the phantom unit, or do I have to cut wires and do soldering to make it work. If so, then how?

    On another note, I'm also looking at some monitors to hook up to the rx. Like I said, I'm looking for something simple, and not so expensive--so goggles and a nice HD monitor are out of the picture. I was browsing around on Amazon, and found this monitor:

    http://www.amazon.com/Rearview-Monitor- ... B005CFLMNC

    Will this monitor work? I feel like it would since it has the yellow RCA jack and also a 12V power connector. I do not care about its small size, all I need is something so I can frame my shots correctly.

    Thanks guys in advance, I really will appreciate all your help!
     
  2. goldfishrock

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Devon, UK
    There is lots of information about wiring in an AVL58 on the forum. Try:

    http://www.phantompilots.com/viewtopic.php?t=5108

    You'll have to solder a couple of wires, nothing more than that. All the wiring diagrams are in the P2 manual too.

    That screen should work with the receiver if all you want is a 'framing' monitor
     
  3. renteriafilms

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks a bunch!
     
  4. FASTFJR

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    South East PA

    I thought the new "Hub" from DJI did away with soldering anything?
     
  5. FASTFJR

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    South East PA
    Wanted to bump this to see if I was correct about the hub
     
  6. Godspeedkustoms

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Yes you are correct about the hub no soldering is involved just plug everything into the hub.