DJI Phantom 2 Vision+ and Ebay gimball + Hero 4 Silver

Reaction score
Hi to all !

First time poster, complete newb when it comes to drones. I have GoPro Hero 4 Silver camera for some time and I have found one DJI Phantom 2 Vision+ drone but the camera and original gimbal are removed, there are 4 small holes ( Im guessing for screws ) and one big hole with 3 cables peeking out.

So my question is, can I buy cheap gimbal from Ebay and use commands from the Phantom remote to move my GoPro camera at least vertically up/down ? Or I can just have parallel tracking and the camera will watch only in front of it and thats it ?

Also, can I use those cables that are left to connect this gimbal to power and also to those movements if possible ? I really need your help today since I told this guy that I will buy it but now I have found out that maybe I wont be able to move it at all and that is a dealbraker for me.

FPV BGC 2Axis Gimbal w/ Controller for GoPro 3 DJI Phantom Walkera X350 UK Stock

Thanks a lot !

Hi Karanba, I am fairly new to Phantoms as well but I cut my teeth (on quadcopters that is) on a Syma x5c and then moved on to a Cheerson CX 20 ( a Phantom clone) before moving up to a Phantom2 plus v3.
The gimbal you have mentioned is to stabilise the GoPro type camera in flight and acts as a giro to keep the cameras horizon level, the wires are just to power up the gimble.
Please correct me if I am wrong any body out there as I still have the CX20 that is fitted as standard with 5v and 12v multi mini sockets vest to where the fixed camera mount is fixed and is controlled by the S1 and S2 switches.
Then I may have then two camera eyes in the sky!!!!

Well this is my first ever drone, never seen one in real life :) I record the work on the field and things like that with GoPro but I want to try to do it with this thing.