Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

DJI ioSD Mark 2 to Phantom 2

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by Mark Picard, May 18, 2014.

  1. Mark Picard

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do I have to go into the internals and solder the bare battery power leads (I will have to cut off the Dean's end on the Mark 2) onto the inside battery terminal of the Phantom 2 to make it work as the ioSD Mark 2 comes with a Deans (?) terminal (as in the old Phantom 1)? Obviously there is no plug in for that style battery on the Phantom 2, as it is hard wired. The only video I could find was made by a guy who was asking the same question, so there's not a single tutorial out there explaining how to accomplish this. Thanks for your help! Mark
     
  2. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    You could use the DJI FPV hub for a no-solder solution. I did it on mine (with H3-3D and AVL58) and then you don't need the power leads at all, so they can be removed. Overview of it here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s1rEk3CdMnE Skip to 4:45 to see the hub and iOSD Mk2 and no power lines required.
     
  3. Mark Picard

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks a ton for that info! I too have the H3-3D and AVL58 with the FPV Hub that I have already installed, so I guess that's all I need! I see from that video (thanks again for that) that he just clipped of the red and black power wires from his Mark 2. I assume using the FPV Hub it will get it's own power from the various wiring configurations it has. I'm almost ready for my first flight!
     
  4. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    It does take the power from the hub and he did just clip the leads. I know because he is me, and that's my setup! ;)
     
  5. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    I think the power to actually run the iOSD mkII still comes off the canbus connection...the separate power leads you're clipping are used for the built-in PMU that can power a standard FPV camera. Since you don't have one of those connected, that part isn't used at all. The port on the OSD that connects to the FPV hub cable doesn't have provisions for sending power in, only out.

    One of the cool features of the mkII is the ability to switch input sources while in the air. I haven't tested that yet, but it's on my list.