Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

DJI Hardcase Backpack Doesn't Fit P3S Controller w/Arm - SOLVED

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by QuadBart, Feb 7, 2016.

  1. QuadBart

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    116
    Location:
    USA
    SOLVED - See post below if you were wondering how to make it fit...


    I bought the "official" DJI hardshell backpack to transport either my P3S or P3A. The P3A controller fits in just fine. snug but fits. The P3S controller does not. The "Smart Device" arm cannot be moved in such a way to get it to fit in the case.

    The only way I see to get it to fit is to remove the arm. Sure not a big deal unless you are trying to re-assemble in the field over grass, dirt, sand, or any surface that dropping screw and trying to find it becomes problematic.

    Anyone have a reasonable solution/workaround for this?
     
    #1 QuadBart, Feb 7, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2016
  2. DroneDestination

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    126
    Send a picture. You may have the older model backpack.
     
  3. ygrmstr18

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Kirtland, OH
    I had to fold the arm all the way down. Like collapse it on itself. Then it fit.
     
  4. QuadBart

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    116
    Location:
    USA
    So I finally was able to move the arm around so that it fit. I had to loosen the two arm screws and move it around till it fit. It fits well.. I was going to delete this thread as I feel like such a dummy but maybe someone else may benefit from it...

    [​IMG]


     
  5. DroneDestination

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    126
    Yeah, that's what I had to do as well. You'd think DJI would know to put a piece of paper explaining how to do this in the packaging!
     
  6. ygrmstr18

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Kirtland, OH
  7. ygrmstr18

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Kirtland, OH
  8. Matt Stroud

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's not a Standard remote.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  9. ygrmstr18

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Kirtland, OH
    I get that. But it's the only major difference the antenna? The front with controls is the same isn't it?
     
  10. ygrmstr18

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Kirtland, OH
    Nevermind. Googled it, it's a bit different. My bad.
     
  11. feddo714

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same case and have no trouble with the p3s arm. Simply articulate the ball until the mount is flush with the back of the controller and it actually does fit like a glove


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app[​IMG]

    Let me know if it works for you