Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

DJI Go : Smart Go Home option

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Aramis, Aug 4, 2015.

  1. Aramis

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    Behind my keyboard
    Anybody has an idea about the new option in the advanced settings menu : "Smart Go Home" ?
     
    #1 Aramis, Aug 4, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2015
  2. dlbyers

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    93
    Apparently an alternative to "moronic RTH".
     
    WeeMrP, andy162 and acherman like this.
  3. gfredrone

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    191
    My toggle says Smart Go Home. I've asked on the other board but haven't received a response.
     
  4. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    No, not sure but I turned mine to On.
    I'm dieing to try it, and other features as well.
    I see you can now set the Phantom to Return to Home, Land or Hover...
    That should be interesting, to try out, as well.

    RedHotPoker
     
  5. Aramis

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    Behind my keyboard
    Sorry for the bad translation from my french version which mention "RTH intelligent".
    This is of course this option "Smart Go Home" I was speaking about.
     
  6. acherman

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    237
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Ever left it hovering over the Leg grounds? haha I feel like it's a good feature, but make sure to choose the right option in the right flight area. haha
     
  7. gfredrone

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    191
  8. hidaven

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    109
    Wow I just had a great idea! Maybe DJI can include an updated revised manual before adding features to the hardware? I know it's an evolutionary concept but they can be trail blazers! Lol
     
  9. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    The Leg...
    I requested permission from the armed guards at the POST where the gate is on the East side. They said No Drones, and please don't ride the SpYder around the building either... ;-)

    Right Oh... Old Chap!!
    Won't do.

    We could always take control back while RTH was activated, just use the sticks as per usual...

    RedHotPoker
     
    acherman likes this.
  10. mohan

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    206
    Smart go home will trigger a RTH when you fly far and you reach the H in the middle of flight time remaining - this is where you have just enough battery to turn around and get back
     
    gfredrone likes this.
  11. gfredrone

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    191
    Did you try it? Just wondering how you know. I'm about to go offshore and would like to know exactly what this feature is going to do. No room for mistakes...

    Blade confirmed this is part of the feature.
     
    #11 gfredrone, Aug 4, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2015
  12. keepngoal

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    it works great and does as it says. You can cancel the action from the camera screen/App. Typically it wants to return to home by itself under 20% for me. I usually cancel that because I am close to home or landing by that time. IMO, no good reason to fly below 10% when out exploring (sans battery purge).
     
  13. skyeboysteve

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    Actually, this has nothing directly related to battery percentage, but as others have stated; what energy it thinks it needs to return home (ie the location of "H" icon). This calculation is not just based on horizontal distance, but the anticipated energy needed to climb to the RTH height. If for example you set your RTH altitude to 1600' (500m), you'll get the prompt to RTH when your battery power is over 45%, (well above the default warning level of 30%); even with your P3 hovering a foot away from its home position--at least that's how it behaved with previous firmware / app version...
     
  14. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,530
    Likes Received:
    1,478
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    Forgive me if I am wrong, but wasn't this part of the prior RTH functionality? Does this new option simply allow that functionality to be disabled when before you could not?
     
    JoBe likes this.
  15. skyeboysteve

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    I was thinking the same thing--I see no difference, and the updated manual doesn't offer any further insight; so my conclusion is the same as yours, Oso. Though, now that we also have a "hover" option as well, this seems a little duplicitous--unless smart option only relates to RTH based on battery power, and nothing to do with radio reception.
     
  16. Youngbill

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    PA
    Would be nice of DJI to give us a clear understanding of this somewhat important feature.
     
    Mr.Spock and BenDronePilot like this.
  17. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,530
    Likes Received:
    1,478
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    So let me see if I understand. We could always control the craft during RTH, but now we can use that new 'Smart RTH' settings option to enable or disable the ability to control the craft during RTH. Is that correct? I feel like that can't be correct.
     
    JoBe likes this.
  18. BenDronePilot

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,204
    Likes Received:
    131
    Yes, like if this feature still works if the app is not turned on and active
     
  19. PhantomKid

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2014
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    UK
    "If" it applies to "normal" RTH (when signal is lost) then why would you want it to hover ?

    In that situation you'd want it to turn around and come back so that you could regain control and then cancel RTH.

    If it just hovered you wouldn't, perhaps, get control again unless you moved towards it ?
     
  20. Erroll

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    South Africa
    Depending on certain parameters the Phantom will sometimes just land instead of executing a "Go-Home". If that happens over water or any other undesirable terrain, it would be useful if it hovered instead, allowing the pilot to get close enough to regain control?
     
    PhantomKid likes this.